Data Librarian
Ask Archer
Instantly ask Library Help Desk staff about anything! Available during Help Desk opening hours.
STEM Data
This page features data repositories that allow you to search for STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math) data including a specific section on climate and environmental data. The repositories primary purpose is to provide researchers with a place to share their data openly, but they are all searchable. With this in mind, if you are interested in sharing data openly, these repositories might be a good option beyond the University of Regina's Scholar's Portal Dataverse.
Searching for Data
- Depending on what you are looking for, you may want to begin your search with re3data to find a subject specific repository.
- Specific keywords and precise terminology will make searching easier (eg. phenotype plasticity).
- Many of the repositories are hosted in the EU, so the data is more likely to be from the EU, but international data is available.
- Some of the repositories will allow you to create your own account if you'd like to save searches or upload you're own data.
STEM Data Repositories
- DataONEDataONE is an international repository focusing on earth science. Data can be searched for with multiple facets including geography.
- ZenodoZenodo is an EU based open science repository that hosts EC funded data in partnership with CERN and OpenAIRE.
- PangaeaPangaea is an open access repository focusing on georeferenced earth sciences research. Although hosted in the EU, the data is international.
- The Open Science FrameworkOSF is a free and open source project management tool that also acts as a searchable data repository.
- FigshareFigshare is an open and free repository based in the EU and USA.
- DryadAn international repository focusing on genetic research.
Environmental and Climate Data
- Climate Data for a Resilient CanadaA data portal produced by Canadian climate organizations and the Government of Canada.
- Climate Change Knowledge PortalSupported by the World Bank, CCKP provides international climate data.
- Historical Climate DataHistorical weather and radar data collected by the Government of Canada.
- IRI Climate Data LibraryThe International Research Institute for Climate and Society is run by Columbia University. The Library terabytes of climate data that is openly accessible.
- NOAA National Centers for Environmental InformationNCEI environmental data covers a broad range of scientific disciplines and data formats. NCEI has several methods and services to provide FAIR access to climate and environment data.
- IPCC Data Distribution CenterThe IPCC provides climate, socio-economic and environmental data, primarily intended for climate researchers, but can be used by educators, government, NGOs, and the public.
- Archive for Marine Species and Habitats Data (DASSH)The UK data archive for marine species and habitat data.
- Distributed Active Archive Center for Biogeochemical DynamicsPart of NASA's Earth Data, this portal provides a wide variety of climate and general science data.
- OECD Environmental Data CompendiumThe OECD's environmental and climate data focuses on the social and economic impact of climate change.
- Canadian Integrated Ocean Observing SystemCIOOS is an open-access national system that brings together the various elements of ocean observation in Canada. The CIOOS Data Catalogue allows researchers to search, find, and download all 285 CIOOS datasets.
- Actuaries Climate IndexEnvironmental data designed to inform actuaries, public policymakers, and the public about climate trends in the US and Canada. Focuses on observations of extreme weather and sea levels.
