Quick Find
You can also search for recordings through the Quick Find catalogue
- Select advanced search
- Open the "Material Type" drop down menu
- Select "Audio Visual"
Creating Playlists in Naxos
Musical Recordings - Online Resources
- 78rpm RecordsThe digitization project currently focuses on discs that are less likely to be commercially available--or available at all in digital form--particularly focusing on underrepresented artists and genres. Digitization will make this less commonly available music accessible to researchers in a format where it can be manipulated and studied without harming the physical artifacts. We have preserved the often very prominent surface noise and imperfections and included files generated by different sizes and shapes of stylus to facilitate different kinds of analysis.
- Classical Music Library
This link opens in a new window
Classical Music Library is the music listening service for libraries. The collection of 1,000,000-plus tracks for listening and searching is supplemented by extensive reference materials.Classical Music Library features recordings from 26 labels including EMI Classics, sourced from 21 different label groups. Licenses include EMI Classics , Hyperion, Bridge Records (contemporary composers), Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, H - Classical Music Reference Library
- This link opens in a new window
"Classical Music Reference Library brings together more than 30,000 pages of essential reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database. Included are the authoritative reference titles Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music, which are available for the first time in electronic form. This release includes 26,774 essays and images from 22 sources, over 15,001 pages." - Naxos Music Library
This link opens in a new window
Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world's largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 185,000 CDs with more than 2,850,450 tracks, standard and rare repertoire.
Naxos Music Library can also be accessed via the Naxos app for mobile devices.
Go to Playlists to sign up for an account. You will receive an email with activation request. Once your account it activated you can download the Naxos app and use registered playlist account to access. - Smithsonian Global Sound
- This link opens in a new window
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms. Includes more than 40,000 tracks, the entire output of Smithsonian Folkways Recordings.
Creating a Playlist in Naxos
Did you know you can create your own personal playlist in Naxos? First, you need to set up an account. Follow the steps below to start creating playlists in Naxos.
Setting up your account
- Open Naxos Music Library or Log into Naxos Music Library using your Campus Connection credentials.
- Click on Playlist in the navigational menu.
- Select "Sign Up"
- Fill out the form with the required information. You're all set!
Creating playlists
- Access Naxos Music Library and click on Playlist in the navigational menu.
- Under the Playlist menu, click on Login. Log in using the Email Address and Password you used to register.
- Click on My Playlist tab and click on the default current folder. You may also create your own folder under this tab. You are only allowed to create playlists in the your Playlist tab. You may only view and stream playlists from other tabs.
- Once you’ve created a Folder for yourself, create a Playlist within that folder.
- Now that you’ve created a blank playlist, you are ready to fill it with music.
- You can search for a CD and when you have chosen one, click on the album name or cover, and the CD page will appear in a new window.
- Select the tracks you want to add by clicking the check-boxes to the left of the tracks. You can add as few or as many tracks as you want. Click the "Add to Playlist" button.
- A small window will open in which you can add the chosen track(s) to an existing playlist or to a new playlist for which you can create a new title.
- To add a track to an existing playlist, select the tab then the folder and choose one of the playlist titles listed. To create a new playlist, simply type a new playlist title into the empty box beside “Playlist Name” under New Playlist section. Once you have added the selected item(s) to your playlist, click “Save.”
Naxos Music Library have iPhone & Android apps: you'll be able to use playlists you've created, and browse all of Naxos from your phone. Download the NML (Naxos Digital Services) app from iTunes or the Naxos Music Library app from Google Play.