Quick Find Catalogue
You can also search for scores through the Quick Find catalogue:
- Select advanced search
- Select "music scores" in the "material type" drop down menu
Scores
In classical music, scores are the primary sources. For jazz, popular music, and world music, transcription scores may be useful for analyzing the original recordings. The following types of scores may be found in Archer Library in the M section (unless noted):
- Study scores: easy-to-carry editions and economical reprints, including miniature scores
- Performing editions: score with performing parts for each instrument
-
Facsimile: A copy or reproduction of a score that is as true to the original source as possible
-
Methods (shelved in MT): exercises and studies for individual instruments
-
Transcriptions: notated music from recordings, useful for the study of jazz, pop, and world music
-
Critical editions (shelved in M2 and M3): monuments and collected composer editions prepared from manuscripts and early prints
Scores - Online Resources
- Acadia Early Music ArchiveDescription: An early Acadia music archive, edited by Gordon J. Callon
- Bach DigitalDescription: In Bach Digital you will find a digital library of Johann Sebastian Bach's autograph manuscripts and original parts in high-resolution scans. In the Bach-Source catalog you will find information about all of Johann Sebastian Bach's works and their written transmission.
- Chopin First Editions WebsiteDescription: An archive comprising c. 5,500 digital images of Chopin's first editions has been made available online without password restriction, prerequisite subscription or payment.
- ChoralWikiDescription: Here you will find free choral/vocal scores, texts, translations, and other useful information
- Canadian Music CentreThe CMC holds Canada's largest collection of Canadian concert music, makes available over 15,000 scores and/or works of contemporary Canadian composers, and markets 900 Canadian CD titles.
- Eastman School of Music Sibley Music Library Digitized Scores CollectionDescription: A university-based, long-term, digital repository for the management, dissemination and stewardship of digital materials.
- Historic American Sheet MusicDescription: Digital images of over 16,000 pages of sheet music published in the United States between 1850-1920.
- Lied and Art Songs Webpage (The LiederNet Archive)This site houses an extensive, growing archive of texts to 93,066 settings of Lieder and other classical art songs
- Music for the Nation - American Sheet Music, 1870-1885Description: From the American Memory Site at the Library of Congress.'
- Digital Mozart EditionThe Mozarteum Foundation Salzburg (MFS) currently holds approximately half of the known letters and documents of the Mozart family, thus possessing the largest collection of this kind worldwide.
- VARIATIONS Prototype: Online Musical ScoresDescription: This site provides access to musical scores in the public domain.
- Classical Scores Library
This link opens in a new window
Classical Scores Library is a series of four volumes providing a reliable and authoritative source for scores of the classical canon, as well as a resource for the discovery of lesser-known contemporary works. The collections encompass all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. Contains full, study, piano, and vocal scores.
Many items have link to "Play recordings", associated audio tracks in Classical Music Library, so that UofR readers can listen to a recording online while following along with the full score. - International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP)The International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP), also known as the Petrucci Music Library, is a project for the creation of a free public domain music library. Includes 29,845 works
