Archer Library: Music: Finding Articles

Boolean Operators

Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) are words you can use to connect, exclude or add synonyms or concepts together.

For further explanation and visuals of Boolean logic, click here

Boolean Operators

General Music Databases

Cambridge Journals Online
- This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Journals Online provides online access to the complete contents of over 200 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Coverage varies. Most volumes for 2006 to 2015
Canadian Music Periodical Index
An index to journals, newsletters and magazines on all aspects of Canadian musical activity.
International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP)
The International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP), also known as the Petrucci Music Library, is a project for the creation of a free public domain music library. Includes 29,845 works
Music Periodicals Database
- This link opens in a new window
Music Periodicals Databases (previously IIMP Full Text ) indexes more than 425 international music periodicals from over 20 countries with over 100 Full Text titles. The database also includes retrospective coverage from over 165 periodicals dating back as far as 1874.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of backfiles of more than 1100 journals in the humanities, social sciences, sciences and education. Coverage is from volume 1 on, excluding latest 3-5 years.
More than 3 million of the images from Artstor are now available alongside JSTOR’s scholarly content.
Music Index Online
A subject-author guide to Music Periodical Literature.

"The Music Index Online : A Subject-Author Guide to Music Periodical Literature is compiled from more than 700 international music periodicals offering the researcher access to a wealth of historiographic, ethnographic, and musicological data. A broad range of subjects is covered, including past and present personalities, the history of music, forms and types of music, musical instruments from the earliest times to modern electronic instruments, plus computer produced music. In addition, book reviews, reviews of music recordings, tapes, and performances are indexed. First performances and obituaries are noted."
Oxford Music Online
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Music Online includes: Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Second Edition Revised.

Grove Music Online comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition, edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell (London, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, edited by Stanley Sadie (London, 1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition, edited by Barry Kernfeld (London, 2002).
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global is the official dissertations archive for the Library of Congress, and includes millions of citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to present. Over a million of these are available in full text, including the majority of theses added since 1997. Content is from North America and Europe, and also now includes full coverage of the UK and Ireland. The University of Regina's Theses and Dissertations are included for years from 1996 to 2012.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCO)
International bibliography of scholarly writings in music and related disciplines.