Music: Scholarly Music Websites of Interest

The American Musicological Society was founded in 1934 to advance research in the various fields of music as a branch of learning and scholarship. 3,600 individuals and 1,100 institutional subscribers from over forty nations participate in the Society.

A collection of information about opera and operatic arias.

Bach digital is a large, detailed, powerful database – and a reliable tool for exploring the constantly updated research findings on Johann Sebastian Bach and other composers in his family.

Contains the unique collections of the Beethoven-Haus: Music manuscripts, first editions, letters and pictures

The CMC holds Canada's largest collection of Canadian concert music, makes available over 15,000 scores and/or works of contemporary Canadian composers, and markets 900 Canadian CD titles.

MusCan is a bilingual and scholarly society dedicated to the promotion of music as a subject of study and research in Canadian post-secondary institutions.

This website provides links to substantial open-access projects of use to musicians and musicologists. With a burgeoning number of digital resources available, remembering titles of sites and pathways to them can be difficult. Digital Resources in Musicology (DRM) is organized topically and provides a rapid search tool for specialties within heterogeneous collections.

Early Music Online is a pilot project in which 300 of the world’s earliest surviving volumes of printed music, held in the British Library, have been digitised and made freely available online. You can browse the digitised content in Royal Holloway's digital repository.

A collection of texts used in almost 100,000 Lieder and other classical art songs as well as in many choral works and other types of classical vocal pieces.

Provides access to over 20,000 pre-1950 pieces of sheet music, 200,000 Canadian recordings; over 300 archival collections; and extensive monograph, vertical file, photographic, and journal collections. Current copyright law revisions noted.

Allows you to identify common themes in western classical music, folksongs, and latin motets of the sixteenth century

Provides access to program notes and descriptions or analyses of musical compositions in books owned by the University of Tennessee Music Library.

A database providing "access to about 50,000 songs in more than 1500 published song anthologies owned by the George F. DeVine Music Library at the University of Tennessee." Use this index to determine which anthologies contain the song(s) you need.