ParlVU is a webcasting service that provides live and archived streams of video and audio for the House of Commons events. The webcasts are of all proceedings, televised Committees, and the audio of all committees that are sitting in public.
The Budget sets out the government's priorities for spending and the taxation required to meet them. This document is prepared by the Department of Finance and released early in the year.
The Department of Finance Canada is responsible for the overall stewardship of the Canadian economy. This includes preparing the annual federal budget, as well as advising the Government on economic and fiscal matters, tax and tariff policy, social measures, security issues, financial stability and Canada’s international commitments.
The Auditor General's annual report to the Public Accounts Committee is an independent audit of the financial affairs of most agencies of the federal government including a determination of value received.
This bilingual government and legislative publications portal is called GALLOPP (Government and Legislative Libraries Online Publications Portal). It contains over 300,000 full-text documents (a majority dating back to 1995) from Canada's federal, provincial and territorial governments.
The resource is not comprehensive or exhaustive but archives information is at http://aplicportal.ola.org/aplicscopenote-eng.asp. This resource is managed by APLIC/ABPAC (Association of Parliamentary Libraries in Canada).
Contains all public notices, official appointments and proposed regulations from the Government, as well as miscellaneous public notices from the private sector that are required to be published by a federal statute or regulation.
HeinOnline: Government, Politics and Law for Canada is a fully-searchable, image-based government document and legal research database with a focus on the Canadian context.
University of Regina Library's subscription provides access to the following resources:
Law Journal Library
Acts of the Parliament of Canada (Annual Statutes)
Canada Supreme Court Reports
Criminal Justice in America: U.S. Attorney General Opinions, Reports, and Publications
English Reports
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
Legal Classics
Legal Dictionaries
Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory
Provincial Statutes of Canada
Revised Statutes of Canada
U.S. Supreme Court Library
Women and the Law (Peggy)
World Constitutions Illustrated: Contemporary & Historical Documents and Resources
World Trials Library
LEGISinfo is an essential research tool for finding information on legislation currently before Parliament. It provides information about the legislative stages completed, as well as background, analysis and other general information on most bills dating back to the 37th Parliament in 2001.
LEGISinfo is a collaborative effort of the Parliamentary Information and Research Service and the Information and Document Resource Service of the Library of Parliament.
Debates are archived starting from the 35th Parliament (January 17, 1994 to present). Debates for the Senate of Canada are available from the parliamentary website as of February 27, 1996. Hansard is the official edited verbatim report of the proceedings that take place in the House of Commons. They contain speeches of Members in debate and comments and remarks by other Members. Hansard includes the full deliberations of the House including: voting lists; speeches from the Throne; texts of addresses to Parliament by foreign dignitaries.
Includes the minutes and proceedings of Standing, Special, Legislative, and Joint Committees from 1994 to date. It also includes the consideration of Bills in order to report on same to the House of Commons and/or Senate.
Free searchable database of digitized versions of parliamentary publications from the 1st Session of the 1st Parliament (1867) until coverage at ourcommons.ca and sencanada.ca begins.
The Index to Federal Royal Commissions provides bibliographic access to materials associated with more than 200 federal Royal Commissions that have taken place since Confederation. There are approximately 7000 items in the index that includes commission reports, briefs, submissions, evidence, working papers and other documents.
At the time of its publication in 1968, no other Commonwealth country had produced a handbook on conventions that paralleled the Manual's breadth and depth. While it is considered dated and incorrect in its interpretation of some conventions, it is still consulted from time to time as a reference.
Official reporting of the debates of Canada's Parliament began in 1871 in the Senate and in 1875 in the House of Commons. There was no official record of what was said in Parliament prior to these dates. The Parliament of Canada, in collaboration with the Library of Parliament, have reconstituted the debates in the Senate from 1867 to 1870 and in the House of Commons from 1867 to 1874 using newspaper reports of the day as sources.
