Indigenous Studies: Research Portals and Other Collections

The Aboriginal Healing Foundation was established in 1998 as an Indigenous managed, non-profit corporation dedicated to responding to the legacy of residential schools in Canada and the associated community health impacts. Funding for the Aboriginal Healing Foundation ceased in 2014. The AHF contains many free research based materials.

A digital collection of photographs, documents, interviews, oral histories, and more.

Content in this entry managed by the Manitoba Museum.

The Carumba Institute is a central component of QUT's commitment to Indigenous Australians. The institute embodies QUT’s priority to increase Indigenous Australian research focus, continue to develop Indigenous Australian researchers and attend to the needs of Indigenous Australian students. The institute is responsive to government and higher education sector agendas, and contributes to overcoming Indigenous disadvantage.

The Departmental Letterbooks, drawn from the RG 10 sub-collection “Records relating to Indian Affairs,” contain information about the activities of the Department of Indian Affairs from 1871 to 1929 and are an important resource for Indigenous claims researchers and historians.

The First Nations Information Governance Centre (FNIGC) provides information about First Nations people living on reserve and in northern communities. An incorporated non-profit organization operating with a special mandate from the Assembly of First Nations’ Chiefs in Assembly. The FNIGC partners to collect data to improve the health and well-being of over 600 First Nations communities in Canada.

Search the catalogue, databases, and research guides of First Nations University

Developed with and for Indigenous Peoples, this resource is a tool of self-determination to assist communities in decision making. The website is hosted by Deyohahá:ge, the Indigenous Knowledge Centre, at Six Nations Polytechnic in the territory of Six Nations of the Grand, Oshweken, Ontario, Canada. Deyohahá:ge (Two Roads): “is dedicated to bringing together two streams of consciousness – the ancestral Indigenous knowledge with the best of modern academic knowledge – in order to advance the overall well-being of all peoples.”

This collection includes material documenting the fur trade extraction-based colonialism, finance, accounting, and administration of the North West Company, as well as the kinship networks that solidified wealth and political power among its senior management and major shareholders. As they relate to larger histories of the fur trade and of extraction-based colonialism,

A collection of primary sources including oral history interviews, photographs, and other archival materials covering Métis history and culture

This open access resource is updated frequently with academic works related to the history of settler colonialism in Saskatchewan and Gladhue Rights. The database also includes oral history resources and archival documents. Additional information is at https://www.lawsociety.sk.ca/online-services/gladue-rights-research-database-free-and-open.

Homeless Hub is a non-partisan research and policy partnership between academics, policy and decision makers, service providers and people who have experienced homelessness. It is managed by the Canadian Observatory on Homelessness (COH) and is located at York University.

A collection of over 1,100 oral interviews of First Nations elders from across Canada

This resource is addresses the colonial legacy of residential schools and other policies imposed by the Canadian government on Indigenous Peoples, and ensures that this history is acknowledged, examined and understood.

This tool was created by the Government of Canada. The interactive map allows users to visualize the location of the 140 former residential school sites recognized in the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement as well as provide information on the current status and historical context of the site.

A listing of Indigenous serial publications (newspapers, newsletters, magazines, and journals), arranged by title. It primarily includes material published in Canada. The scope includes publications by Indigenous communities and organizations, and excludes known material produced by governments and non-Indigenous organizations.

Learn how Library and Archives Canada (LAC) increases access to Indigenous-related content in its collection and supports Indigenous communities to preserve First Nations, Inuit and Métis Nation cultures and languages.

This database contains hundreds of archaeological sites in North and South America dating from 250,000 to 12,000 years ago. This resource was created and managed by Paulette Steeves, a professor in Sociology at Algoma University and a Canada Research Chair in Healing and Reconciliation.

This resource was created by Canada's Sports Hall of Fame and it documents the history and contributions of Indigenous athletes.

Indigitization is a BC based collaborative initiative between Indigenous communities and organizations, the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre, the Museum of Anthropology, Northern BC Archives (UNBC), and X̱wi7x̱wa Library, and the Centre for Teaching, Learning and Technology (CTLT) to facilitate capacity building in Indigenous information management.

Canadian and North American content which includes archival materials as well as book, theses, and journal articles

The Atlas began in 2007-2008 as the Treaties Module of the Living Cybercartographic Atlas of Indigenous Perspectives and Knowledge, which provides an initial basis for tracking some aspects of the Lake Huron Treaty signing and reserve survey processes. The Treaties Module has grown into an Atlas project devoted to understanding the history and geography of the Lake Huron Treaty region and beyond, and it continues to include a variety of perspectives and different contexts across time and space.

The Legacy of Hope Foundation is a national, Indigenous-led, charitable organization that has been working to promote healing and Reconciliation in Canada for more than 19 years. The LHF’s goal is to educate and raise awareness about the history and existing intergenerational impacts of the Residential School System (RSS) and subsequent Sixties Scoop (SS) on Indigenous (First Nations, Inuit, and Métis) Survivors, their descendants, and their communities to promote healing and Reconciliation

The National Collaborating Centre for Indigenous Health (NCCIH) is a national Indigenous organization established in 2005 by the Government of Canada and funded through the Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC) to support First Nations, Inuit, and Métis public health renewal and health equity through knowledge translation and exchange. The NCCIH is hosted by the University of Northern BC (UNBC) in Prince George, BC.

Native-Land.ca is managed by Victor G Temprano, whose company, Mapster, funds the website. It is not an academic or professional survey of Indigenous territories, and the maps are constantly being refined from user input.

The OTC has been in almost continuous operation since 1989. It's an independent body and the mission is to serve as the primary mechanism to coordinate and facilitate a bilateral process between Government of Canada and the Federation of Saskatchewan Nations to achieve a common understanding on Treaties No. 4, 5, 6, 8, and 10 in Saskatchewan.

This resource was developed Dr. Judy Iseke, an artist and filmmaker and former Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Education, Lakehead University; Associate Professor, University of Toronto; and Director of Indigenous Education, MacEwan University. The site has more than 170 Elder stories and is a product of many years of work with Métis Elders. It is intended to share stories towards Michif language revitalization.

Pawaatamihk is an open-access journal that showcases Métis thought inside the academy and in community, with sections dedicated to Community Stories, Poetry, and Visual Culture, as well as Book Reviews and Scholarly Papers. This is the first nation-specific journal in Canada, made up of Métis authors, reviewers, editors, graphic designers, and copy editors.

An Indigenous language podcast project that was developed through the First Nations University of Canada to revitalize Indigenous languages by mentoring and training new language learners and fluent speakers. The project focuses on Saskatchewan’s Indigenous languages. There are over 100 podcasts in the Saulteaux, Michif, Nakota and Cree languages.

The atlas is the digital aspect of a five-year project funded by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC). The project emerged from collaborative research in partnership with the Shingwauk Residential Schools Centre (SRSC) to create the cybercartographic Lake Huron Treaty Atlas (LHTA; lhta.ca). This atlas involves a specific focus on residential schools and aims to enrich knowledge and education relating to Residential Schools, their sites and Survivors’ perspectives.

RG10 refers to the historical records created by the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development and its predecessors, held at Library and Archives Canada. RG 10 includes files, correspondence and transcripts on all aspects of Indian administration in Canada for both headquarters and field offices. The records are primary sources of original, unpublished material. Details are at https://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/aboriginal-heritage/first-nations/indian-affairs-rg10/Pages/introduction.aspx#k.

Safe Passage is a project developed by the Native Women’s Association of Canada (NWAC) to help individuals learn more about missing and murdered Indigenous women, girls, and 2SLGBTQQIA+ people in Canada.

Library and Archives Canada's (LAC) Truth and Reconciliation Commission Web Archive provides access to archival copies of the websites of organizations connected with the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada (TRC), either as active partners at national events or through initiatives to support commemoration. The collection was curated in collaboration with the University of Winnipeg Library, the University of Manitoba Libraries, and the National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation (NCTR). It contains English- and French-language content that records the effect of the TRC on Canadian society.

Voices of the Land is a digital public space that supports communities to create, share, discover, and celebrate Indigenous content online. It was developed by libraries throughout Alberta with support from the Government of Alberta’s Public Library Services Branch.

Developed by the Legacy of Hope Foundation along with public and private partners.