Archer Library: Theatre: Databases

Database Search Tips

AND requires all specified words to appear in each item

e.g. costume design AND Japan*

OR requires any of the specified words to appear in each item

e.g. community theat* OR amateur theat*

NOT excludes terms not desired

e.g. stage setting NOT stage machinery

Combining ideas

e.g. theat* AND (Greece OR Rome)

prioritize your concepts to begin your search with the most important one
consider additional concepts to use, if necessary, to reduce or expand retrieval
if the database has a thesaurus, either online or print, check for suggested terms

Best Bets

Quick Find
Description: A quick and easy way to search many databases and the library catalog at the same time!

Performing Arts Database
- This link opens in a new window
The database indexes more than 200 international scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals and also indexes a variety of documents such as biographcal profiles, conference papers, obituraries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events. IIPA covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry including dance, film, television, drama, theatre, stagecraft, musical theatre, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, opera, puppetry, magic and more.
Theatre in Video
- This link opens in a new window
Theatre in Video contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all.
MLA International Bibliography
An index to international journals, books, essay collections, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Subject areas: literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Coverage includes all modern national literatures.

Click here for a complete list of the Library's databases in theatre.

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is the comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Academic OneFile Select (Gale)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers across disciplines. The database meets research needs in subject areas including the arts and humanities, social sciences, and science and technology