Archer Library: Spring/Summer 2020 Business 100: Databases

Ask Archer

Instantly ask Library Help Desk staff about anything! Available during Help Desk opening hours.

Bloomberg

The Bloomberg terminal is available through the lab in the Education building. Contact the Faculty of Business Administration for more information.

Databases

This page has links to some of the most widely-used databases for business topics.

Not finding what you're looking for? Try searching in other business databases (browse by subject for Business Administration). Ask a reference librarian at the Information Desk or by instant chat using the chat window to the left. Contact the Liaison Librarian. And see other resources and tips in the column to the left.

Business Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Major source for academic journals, trade publications, market and industry research reports, company annual reports, dissertations, and working papers. Also contains country profiles and economic forecasts for most major economies.
CBCA Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database
- This link opens in a new window
The Canadian Business & Current Affairs™ Database combines full text and indexed content from all four subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). The content comes from a broad range of Canadian sources, with the majority of content in English and hundreds of thousands of full-text articles in French. The resource includes millions of full-text articles and records from 1933 to current, providing content in Canadian current events, business, science and technology, medical, humanities and the arts, and hundreds of topics.
Corporate Snapshots
A concise report on all publicly traded Canadian companies.
Conference Board of Canada e-Data Service
- This link opens in a new window
Electronic access to over 8,000 regularly updated indicators that forecast the economic performance of Canada, the United States, the provinces, 27 Canadian CMAs and ten Canadian Industrial Sectors. The Consumer and Business Confidence databases are also included. All students, faculty and staff at University of Regina can freely download the data and tables.
Conference Board of Canada E-library
- This link opens in a new window
Conference Board of Canada E-library contains the Conference Board's periodical publications, research reports, and economic studies.
Econlit
- This link opens in a new window
An index to journal articles, books, dissertations and the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics in the area of economics. Includes abstracts.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni replaced Lexis Nexis Academic.
Contains information from over 15,000 news, legal and business sources. Comprehensive coverage of news and current events, government, business, medical, and legal topics, as well as general reference information is included. Formats found in the database are: international and domestic newspapers, magazines and trade journals, broadcast transcripts (NPR, ABC News, CBS News, and CNN), company financial information, industry and market news, case law, law reviews, medical news and abstracts, and country profiles. Includes business information on over 80 million public & private international companies and 75 million executives. Non-English language news sources are available in Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Dutch. Campus news from some 400 college/university papers and over 50 wire services are also available.
PAIS International with Archives
- This link opens in a new window
An index to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories. Subject areas: agriculture, banking, business, demographics, education, environment, finance, government, health, international relations, law and legislation political science, public administration, social sciences, statistics.
Economist Intelligence Unit
EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit) provides country, industry, management analysis and forecasts on over 200 countries, nine strategic industries, and a full range of management functions through the following services:
ViewsWire provides daily updated analysis and views on business, economic trends, political and market developments from around the world. ViewsWire covers over 200 countries with three years of archived information.
Country reports provides in depth information on issues shaping the country: the political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, sectoral trends, foreign trade and payments. Country Reports covers 200 countries and is updated monthly.
World Bank e-Library
The collection consists of over 1,600 World Bank publications and over 2,300 Policy Research Working Papers .
OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary is OECD's Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD's analysis and data.
OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF).
Business Market Research Collection
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - covering 40,000 global public and non-public companies including financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance; US and Worldwide Industry & Market Reports from Barnes Reports - covering global industries in depth; and Snapshots - market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries..

Types of Information

Here are some suggestions for finding different kinds of information for your research.

For company reports:

Corporate Snapshots
Nexis Uni
Business Market Research Collection
- This link opens in a new window

For industry reports:

IBISWorld Canada

For demographic information:

SANDS

For news articles:

ABI/INFORM Collection
- This link opens in a new window
CBCA Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database
- This link opens in a new window

PressReader

PressReader
PressReader provides online access to today's newspapers from over 100 countries around the world in over 60 languages in a full-color, full-page format. Includes over 5,000 newspaper titles and magazines with access up to a 90-day archive (varies per news source).
Download PressReader App via the University of Regina edurom Wifi to read titles on mobile devices.
Radiant Access allows anyone who has visited the University of Regina campus a PressReader HotSpot, to extend the app access for six days.