When searching for journal articles in Quick Find, type in your keyword(s) or search terms and then limit your results (on the left) to Peer-Reviewed Journals and Full-Text Online under Refine Your Search. It's also a good idea to limit your results to Articles under Resource Type. Like books, you can add further limits as needed.
Click on the video below to watch a demonstration of searching for journal articles in Quick Find.
There are pros (ease of use, breadth of subject areas searched) and cons (full-text not always available, not all results are scholarly) to using Google Scholar.
It is important that you configure your Google Scholar settings to allow access to U of R databases. Instructions can be found here.
For other tips, see Robert Thomas's Google Scholar LibGuide.
Quick Find searches the majority of the U of R's online databases. However, you may choose to search individual databases to narrow your research down to your specific discipline and to search the full-text of sources.
Some of the databases only contain peer-reviewed, scholarly sources, limiting the need for filters.
Some databases will point you towards "citations" of sources that are not available full-text but that we could interlibrary loan (see below).
Some databases you may want to try for research in RLST 390BX are:
You may wish to check out some other databases pertaining to Religious Studies. Depending on your paper topic, you may also want to look at Women's and Gender Studies databases. Click on the Databases tab on the the library home page. Select Religious Studies and/or Women's and Gender Studies in the Subject box.
Stuck for a topic or at a loss for keywords?
Sometimes, just browsing through journals or skimming their table of contents might trigger some ideas.
Here are some journals to try:
Journal of Middle East Women's Studies
Hawwa: Journal of Women of the Middle East and the Islamic World
Kafa'ah: Journal of Gender Studies
Pakistan Journal of Women's Studies
The Middle East Women's Studies Review
Journal of Feminist Studies in Religion
Quarterly Journal of Gender & Social Issues
If you are unable to find an article through Quick Find, you can make a request to obtain material from another library. To place an interlibrary loan, go to the library home page and click on the Interlibrary Loan icon that appears under the tabs. Log in with your ID card barcode and last name. Fill out the request form with as much information as you can. Carla can help you with this. Please note that this service can take a few days, so start your research early!
