Archer Library: Public Policy: Newspapers

Newspapers Online

Databases for accessing newspapers:

Canadian Major Dailies
- This link opens in a new window
The full text database includes national and leading regional papers such as National Post, Calgary Herald, Edmonton Journal,Montreal Gazette, Ottawa Citizen, Regina Leader Post, Vancouver Sun, and the Victoria Times-Colonist.
PressReader
PressReader provides online access to today's newspapers from over 100 countries around the world in over 60 languages in a full-color, full-page format. Includes over 5,000 newspaper titles and magazines with access up to a 90-day archive (varies per news source).
Download PressReader App via the University of Regina edurom Wifi to read titles on mobile devices.
Radiant Access allows anyone who has visited the University of Regina campus a PressReader HotSpot, to extend the app access for six days.
CBCA Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database
- This link opens in a new window
The Canadian Business & Current Affairs™ Database combines full text and indexed content from all four subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). The content comes from a broad range of Canadian sources, with the majority of content in English and hundreds of thousands of full-text articles in French. The resource includes millions of full-text articles and records from 1933 to current, providing content in Canadian current events, business, science and technology, medical, humanities and the arts, and hundreds of topics.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers (Canadian)
- This link opens in a new window
Searching across eleven Canadian historical newspapers:
Calgary Herald 1883-2010
Edmonton Journal 1903 - 2010
Leader-Post 1883 - 2010
Montreal Gazette 1857 - 2010
Ottawa Citizen 1845-2010
Saskatoon Star-Phoenix 1902 - 2009
The Globe and Mail 1844 - 2017
The Province 1894 - 2010
Times Colonist 1884 - 2010
Toronto Star 1894 - 2019
Vancouver Sun 1912 - 2010
Globe and Mail
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1844 - 2018
Electronic full-page newspaper archive includes all the stories, plus images, advertisements, classifieds, political cartoons, births and deaths from more than 1.4 million pages of Canada's National Newspaper, dating back to the pre-confederation era.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni replaced Lexis Nexis Academic.
Contains information from over 15,000 news, legal and business sources. Comprehensive coverage of news and current events, government, business, medical, and legal topics, as well as general reference information is included. Formats found in the database are: international and domestic newspapers, magazines and trade journals, broadcast transcripts (NPR, ABC News, CBS News, and CNN), company financial information, industry and market news, case law, law reviews, medical news and abstracts, and country profiles. Includes business information on over 80 million public & private international companies and 75 million executives. Non-English language news sources are available in Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Dutch. Campus news from some 400 college/university papers and over 50 wire services are also available.
CPIQ Canadian Periodicals (Gale OneFile)
- This link opens in a new window
An index to Canadian periodicals (English and French), plus full text for some publications; also includes selected sections of The Globe and Mail.
Times Digital Archives
- This link opens in a new window
The Times Digital Archive is a fully searchable facsimile edition of the Times (London) covering 1785-2019. Users can search news articles, obituaries, advertising and classifieds.
Alternative Press Index
Indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines covering cultural, economic, political & social change. Includes selected abstracts from research journals.

Subject Librarian

Cara Bradley

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

University of Regina Library

306-585-4837

Subjects: Off Campus Access, Public Policy