When searching for journal articles in Quick Find, type in your keyword(s) or search terms and then limit your results (on the left) to Peer-Reviewed Journals and Full-Text Online under Refine Your Search. It's also a good idea to limit your results to Articles under Resource Type. You can add further limits as needed.
Click on the video below to watch a demonstration of searching for journal articles in Quick Find. Other tips for using Quick Find can be found here.
There are pros (ease of use, breadth of subject areas searched) and cons (full-text not always available, not all results are scholarly) to using Google Scholar.
It is important that you configure your Google Scholar settings to allow access to U of R databases. Instructions can be found here.
For other tips, see Robert Thomas's Google Scholar LibGuide.
We have a number of peer-reviewed journals in the area of positive psychology. Some students find it helpful to browse current issues to get a sense of what the leading trends are or to get an idea for a paper topic. The journals listed below are just a small handful of the U of R Libraries' subscriptions. To target your search by concept and not just to journal title, search Quick Find or the databases (see above).
Journal of Positive Psychology
Applied Psychology: Health and Well-Being
Quick Find searches the majority of the U of R's online databases. However, you may choose to search individual databases to narrow your research down to your specific discipline and to search the full-text of sources.
Some of the databases only contain peer-reviewed, scholarly sources, limiting the need for filters.
**APA PsycInfo has a search interface that differs from Quick Find and many of our other databases. This video, created by the Libraries at the U of Saskatchewan, demonstrates how to search for research studies in APA PsycInfo. Please note that you will access APA PsycInfo through the U R's database site (see below), not through the U of S.
Some databases, such as APA PsycInfo, will point you towards "citations" of sources that may not be available as full-text in the database, but might still be available in Quick Find or that we could interlibrary loan (see below).
Some databases you may want to try for research in PSYC 388AB are:
APA PsycArticles Full Text (Ovid)
You may wish to check out some other databases pertaining to Psychology. Click on the Databases tab on the the library home page. Select Psychology in the Subject box.
If you find an article in PSCYInfo or another database, and discover that it is not available through Quick Find, you can place an interlibrary loan on the article and have it located and sent to you from a different library. To place an interlibrary loan, follow the instructions outlined here.
