Archer Library: Anthropology: Finding Articles

Obtaining a Known Journal Article

If you have enough information (as is found in a bibliographic citation) to identify an article, follow these steps to obtain the full text.

Often, the article can be found by entering the title in Quick Find, in the Basic Search mode.
In Quick Find, click on e-Journal Titles and enter the title of the journal or the ISBN. If the title of the journal appears, follow the Online access link and then use the article's bibliographic information (year, volume, issue) to find it.
Look up the journal by title of the journal in Quick Find, in Advanced Search mode. When you do the search, set the Material Type to Journals. If the title of the journal appears, follow the Online access link to access the journal; or, for an older issue, you might see a call number for the print journal. This is the most reliable method of finding an article.
If the library doesn't have the journal, or doesn't have the issue that you need, you can order the article through Interlibrary Loan.

Request Interlibrary Loan
If items are not held or available online at the University of Regina Library, use the Interlibrary Loan form to request items from other libraries.

Finding Articles on a Topic

You can search for articles on a topic by using Quick Find, and by searching in the following bibliographic databases.

Best Bets for Anthropology

Abstracts in anthropology
- This link opens in a new window
A wide-ranging database of articles in cultural and physical anthropology, archeology, and linguistics.
Anthropological Index Online
An index to journals held at the Anthropology Library at the Centre for Anthropology, British Museum.
►Note: The search function has been curtailed for the time being, and is only a simple matching function. Boolean searching is currently not available
eHRAF World Cultures
The eHRAF World Cultures contains over 350,000 pages of information on all aspects of cultural and social life with diverse topics ranging from bringing up children to religious beliefs to causes and cures of diseases.The annually-growing eHRAF databases are unique in that the information is organized into cultures, ethnic groups and archaeological traditions and the full-text sources (books, articles, and dissertations) are numerically subject-indexed at the paragraph-level.

►Here is a video tutorial on using eHRAF.

Web of Science (OFF CAMPUS ACCESS)
A huge database of articles in science and social sciences journals and conference proceedings.
►Tip: If you find an article of interest, use the Related Records feature to find more articles. Also, use the Cited By feature to find articles that have cited the article.
AnthroSource
- This link opens in a new window
An online repository of the journals of the American Anthropological Association. It's especially useful for browsing.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of backfiles of more than 1100 journals in the humanities, social sciences, sciences and education. Coverage is from volume 1 on, excluding latest 3-5 years.
More than 3 million of the images from Artstor are now available alongside JSTOR’s scholarly content.
America History and Life
Covers the world's scholarly literature on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Comprises circa 400,000 bibliographic entries. Subjects indexed include: history,interdisciplinary studies, popular culture, womens'/gender studies, folklore, and law.
Historical Abstracts
Covers the world's scholarly literature on the history of the world (except the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Indexes more than 2,000 journals. Subject coverage includes: history, interdisciplinary studies, popular culture, womens'/gender studies, folklore, and law.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Not all materials listed in Google Scholar are freely available, however,Google Scholar allows linking to the University of Regina Library subscriptions.
If you are on campus, Google Scholar recognizes your location and automatically shows you the link to the library materials: GetIt@UReginaLibrary.
If you are off campus you must add the University of Regina collection in your Google Scholar settings. For information on how this is done see the Instructions