Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis by
This essential reference contains an authoritative and systematic description of the use of all reagents in organic chemistry. It includes approximately 3500 alphabetically arranged articles, a comparison of reagents with others capable of similar chemistry, a pro and con assessment for each reagent, extensive cross-referencing and substantial subject and molecular formula indexes.
Call Number: ARCHER QD 77 E53 1995ISBN: 0471936235Publication Date: 1995-09-06
Encyclopedia of Chemical Physics and Physical Chemistry - 3 Volume Set by
The Encyclopedia of Physical Chemistry and Chemical Physics introduces possibly unfamiliar areas, explains important experimental and computational techniques, and describes modern endeavors. The encyclopedia quickly provides the basics, defines the scope of each subdiscipline, and indicates where to go for a more complete and detailed explanation. Particular attention has been paid to symbols and abbreviations to make this a user-friendly encyclopedia. Care has been taken to ensure that the reading level is suitable for the trained chemist or physicist. The encyclopedia is divided in three major sections: FUNDAMENTALS: the mechanics of atoms and molecules and their interactions, the macroscopic and statistical description of systems at equilibrium, and the basic ways of treating reacting systems. The contributions in this section assume a somewhat less sophisticated audience than the two subsequent sections. At least a portion of each article inevitably covers material that might also be found in a modern, undergraduate physical chemistry text. METHODS: the instrumentation and fundamental theory employed in the major spectroscopic techniques, the experimental means for characterizing materials, the instrumentation and basic theory employed in the study of chemical kinetics, and the computational techniques used to predict the static and dynamic properties of materials. APPLICATIONS: specific topics of current interest and intensive research. For the practicing physicist or chemist, this encyclopedia is the place to start when confronted with a new problem or when the techniques of an unfamiliar area might be exploited. For a graduate student in chemistry or physics, the encyclopedia gives a synopsis of the basics and an overview of the range of activities in which physical principles are applied to chemical problems. It will lead any of these groups to the salient points of a new field as rapidly as possible and gives pointers as to where to read about the topic in more detail.
Call Number: ARCHER QD 451 E539 2001ISBN: 0750303131Publication Date: 2001-10-30
The Merck Index by
The Merck Index is a one-volume encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs and biologicals that contains more than 10,000 monographs. Each monograph in this authoritative reference source is a concise description of a single substance or a small group of closely related compounds. Compounds included: - human and veterinary drugs - biotech drugs and monoclonal antibodies - substances used for medical imaging - biologicals and natural products - plants and traditional medicines - nutraceuticals and cosmeceuticals - agriculturals, pesticides and herbicides - Organic chemicals used in research - Food additives and supplements - dyes, colors and indicators - environmentally significant substances Information provided: - chemical, common and generic names - Over 15,000 trademarks and associated companies - CAS Registry Numbers for over 12,000 compounds - Over 8,500 chemical structures - molecular formulae, weights and percentage composition - capsule statements identifying compound classes and scientific significance - scientific and patent literature references - physical and toxicity data - therapeutic and commercial uses - caution and hazard information In addition, there are more than 700 new and completely revised monographs, thousands of new references, trademarks and uses added to existing monographs. Now includes a companion CD-ROM which features 989 monographs no longer available in print, organic name reactions, supplemental tables and a new user interface for user-friendly searching. Features of the CD: Searchable by keywords, references, and numerical properties Search the complete contents of the 14th edition, plus nearly a thousand monographs archived from previous editions Comes with a free one-year subscription to the Merck Index Internet Edition Windows-compatible CD powered by CambridgeSoft's ChemFinder Extensively revised supplemental tables now including acronyms, vaccines, and physical constants More than 70 pages of hard to find information in one easy-to-use place
Call Number: ARCHER RS 356 M524 2006ISBN: 9780911910001Publication Date: 2006-11-03
A-Alkanolamines by
Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology The Third Edition of the Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology is built on the solid foundation of the previous editions. All of the articles have been rewritten and updated and many new subjects have been added to reflect changes in chemical technology through the 1970s. The new edition, however, will be familiar to users of the earlier editions: comprehensive, authoritative, accessible, lucid. The Encyclopedia remains an indispensable information source for all producers and users of chemical products and materials. In the Third Edition emphasis is given to major present-day topics of concern to all chemists, scientists, and engineers--energy, health, safety, toxicology, and new materials. New subjects have been added, especially those related to polymer and plastics technology, fuels and energy, inorganic and solid-state chemistry, composite materials, coating, fermentation and enzymes, pharmaceuticals, surfactant technology, fibers and textiles. New features include the use of SI units as well as English units, Chemical Abstracts Service's Registry Numbers, and complete indexing based on automated retrieval from a machine-readable composition system. Once again this classic serves as an unrivaled library of information for the chemical and allied industries. Some comments about Kirk-Othmer-- The First Edition "No reference library worthy of the name will be without this series. It is simply a must for the chemist and chemical engineer..." --Chemical and Engineering News The Second Edition "A necessity for any technical library." --Choice
Call Number: ARCHER TP 9 E685 1977ISBN: 0471020370Publication Date: 1978-01-20
Spectra
Aldrich Library of 13C and 1H FT-NMR Spectra by
This three volume set of 12,000 high-resolution 75MHz 13C and 300MHz 1H FT-NMR spectra is arranged according to functionality. The Library contains CNMR and HNMR spectra of 11,828 organic compounds as well as information about their physico-chemical properties.
Call Number: ARCHER QD 96 F68 P67 1993ISBN: 0941633349Publication Date: 1993-01-22
- nmrshiftdb2An open-access database of organic structures and their NMR spectra, hosted at the University of Cologne in Germany.
- Spectral Database for Organic CompoundsAn open-access resource from the National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, Japan.
Handbooks and Quick Look-Ups
Compendium of Chiral Auxiliary Applications, Three-Volume Set by
The Compendium is a detailed compilation of chiral auxiliaries which are used in the field of organic chemistry to direct "asymmetric synthesis". A molecule is called chiral because it can have two "enantiomers" -- like left and right-handed molecules. An enantiomer is either of two molecules of the same chemical composition that are mirror images of each other but not identical. A "chiral auxiliary" is an aid / auxiliary used to specifically produce either the left or right enantiomer of the chosen molecule, as desired. In this comprehesive reference source, industrial chemists can make informed selections of an auxiliary for a specific application. It is fully cross-referenced to enable the comparative selection of auxiliaries. The work includes over 13,000 auxiliary reaction applications with complete reaction details of the synthetic routes, reagents, and primary literature references.
Call Number: ARCHER QD 262 R66 2002ISBN: 0125953496Publication Date: 2001-12-13
CRC Handbook of Laboratory Safety by
Expanded and updated, The CRC Handbook of Laboratory Safety, Fifth Edition provides information on planning and building a facility, developing an organization infrastructure, planning for emergencies and contingencies, choosing the correct equipment, developing operational plans, and meeting regulatory requirements. Still the essential reference tool, the New Edition helps you organize your safety efforts to adhere to the latest regulations and use the newest technology. Thoroughly revised, the CRC Handbook of Laboratory Safety, Fifth Edition includes new OSHA laboratory safety standards, the 1994 NRC radiation safety standards, guidelines for X-ray use in hospitals, enforcement of standards for dealing with blood-borne pathogens, OSHA actions covering hazardous waste operations and emergency response, and the latest CDC guidelines for research with microbial hazards. Every word on every page has been scrutinized, and literally hundreds of changes have been made to bring the material up to date. See what's new in the New Edition New figures and tables illustrating the new material Internet references in addition to journal articles Changes in the Clean Air Act regarding incineration of hospital, medical, and infectious waste Obsolete articles removed and replaced - over one hundred pages of new material New information on respiratory protection guidelines
Call Number: ARCHER QD 51 C73 2000ISBN: 0849325234Publication Date: 2000-04-12
Handbook of Data on Common Organic Compounds by
The Handbook of Data on Common Organic Compounds provides physical property data, spectral data, and chemical structures for approximately 12,000 common organic compounds. These compounds encompass the most commonly used both in industry and laboratories, as well as those found on various lists of regulatory concern. A clear, easy-to-read format and three indexes- CAS Registry Number, Molecular Formula, and Name/Synonym-enhance the Handbook's usability and help make it a bestselling resource relied upon by researchers, chemists, and students around the world.
Call Number: ARCHER QD 257.7 H35 1995ISBN: 0849304040Publication Date: 1995-01-18
Handbook of Photochemistry and Photobiology by
Editor Hari Singh Nalwa (president of American Scientific Publishers, and a prolific author, editor, scientist, and inventor) presents 45 chapters written by contributors from 15 countries and divided into four thematic volumes: inorganic photochemistry, organic photochemistry, supramolecular photoc
Call Number: ARCHER QD 719 H36 2003ISBN: 1588830047Publication Date: 2003-07-01
Reagents, Auxiliaries, and Catalysts for C-C Bond Formation by
Handbook of Reagents for Organic Synthesis Reagents, Auxiliaries and Catalysts for C-C Bond Formation Robert M. Coates and Scott E. Denmark The University of Illinois, Urbana, USA Recognising the critical need for bringing a handy reference work that deals with the most popular reagents in synthesis to the laboratory of practising organic chemists, the Editors, of the acclaimed Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis (EROS) have selected the most important and useful reagents employed in contemporary organic synthesis. The Handbook of Reagents for Organic Synthesis; Reagents Auxiliaries and Catalysts for C-C Bond Formation, provides practical and concise information on a diverse group of reagents. To familiarise the user with the spectrum of reagents contained within this volume, the editors have subdivided more than 200 entries into 22 classes based on their chemical structures and function. The articles, arranged alphabetically, contain all of the information found in EROS as well as expanded reagents listings. In addition, new listings of recently published review articles and monographs are included, as well as relevant Organic Syntheses procedures that deal with either the preparations or reactions of the featured reagents. This comprehensive and well referenced handbook will prove of great value to all practitioners in the field of organic chemistry.
Call Number: ARCHER QD 77 H37 1999ISBN: 0471979244Publication Date: 1999-07-09
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry by
A comprehensive handbook of chemistry, this text provides a compilation of facts, data, tabular material and experimental findings in every area of chemistry. This edition of the book includes a new section on separation methods and analytical chemistry as well as many other revisions.
Call Number: ARCHER QD 65 L36 1999ISBN: 0070163847Publication Date: 1999
Practical Handbook of Spectroscopy by
A convenient single volume handbook featuring the most important topics in spectroscopy This valuable handbook is based on topics presented in the CRC Handbook of Spectroscopy, Volumes I and II, published in 1974, and Volume III, published in 1981. The information has been condensed (by the original contributor, when possible) so that only the most important information from the original three volumes has been retained and updated. The topics covered include ESCA flame photometry; atomic absorption and emission spectroscopy, including plasma emission; infrared spectroscopy; Raman spectroscopy; ultraviolet absorption spectroscopy; electron spin resonance, X-ray spectroscopy, mass photoelectric absorption coefficients, appearance potential spectroscopy, thermal neutron cross sections and resonance integrals for activation analysis, tables of experimental values of X-ray fluorescence and Coster-Kronig yields for the K-, L-, and M-shells. Other topics include 14 MeV neutron activation cross sections; wavelength standards in visible, ultraviolet, and near-infrared spectroscopy; electron affinities, wavelength-dependent and electronic system oscillator strengths for free diatomic molecules of astrophysical importance; electron spin resonance applicaton to the study of minerals and glasses; experimental lifetimes, Franck-Condon factors; and vibrational and rotational oscillator strengths. The concise format and wealth of information ensures that no spectroscopist will want to be without the updated and revised Practical Handbook of Spectroscopy.
Call Number: ARCHER QD 95 P73 1991ISBN: 0849337089Publication Date: 1991-02-22
Reagent Chemicals
Be sure that the chemicals you make or use meet the latest ACS reagent specifications. Reagent Chemicals is the only resource of its kind that provides specifications and analytical procedures to assure the quality of your chemicals. Improved and expanded, the eighth edition of this authoritative reference now comes in a user-friendly format that makes look-up quick and easy. In it you'll find all the necessary information on atomic absorption spectrophotometry, chromatography, colorimetry and turbidimetry, direct electrometric methods, gravimetric methods, measurement of physical properties, reagent solutions, solid reagent mixtures, solvents for special purposes, specifications and tests, standard volumetric solutions, and titrimetry.
Call Number: ARCHER QD 77 A54 1993ISBN: 0841225028Publication Date: 1993-05-05
- ChemSpiderA large free database of chemical structures, from the Royal Society of Chemistry.
- Common ChemistryAn online index from CAS to help identify common substances. Lookups can be done by chemical name or CAS Registry Number.
- NIST Chemistry WebBookProvides chemical and physical data, from the National Institute of Standards and Technology.
- PubChemA database of biological activities of small molecules, from National Center for Biotechnology Information.
- CRC handbook of chemistry and physicsOnline version of the popular ready reference book of chemical and physical data.
Periodic Tables
- WebElements: The Periodic Table on the WebA standard periodic table, with interesting information about each element.
- The Internet Database of Periodic TablesA collection of interesting and entertaining variations on the periodic table.
- Photographic Periodic Table of the ElementsA periodic table illustrated with photographs.
- Interactive Periodic Table of the Elements and IsotopesAn interactive periodic table with extensive information about isotopes. The King's Centre for Visualization in Science.