Archer Library: Journalism: Canadian News Resources

Cdn Newspaper Websites

There are several main news websites in Canada. These are listed below.

PostMedia Newspapers (canada.com): Major dailies from throughout Canada including the Star Pheonix, Leader-Post, Calgary Herald and National Post.

Quebecor Media (canoe.ca): English Language dailies including the Sun family of newspapers (Toronto, Ottawa, Winnipeg, Calgary, and Edmonton) and the London Free Press among others. For the Vancouver Sun see Canwest above.

Quebecor Media (canoe.ca): French language dailies from Quebecor including Journal de Montreal and Journal de Quebec as well as numerous regional publications from throughout Quebec.

La Presse (Montreal): La Presse (Montreal) is a key Quebec newspaper now offered exclusively online.

TorStar / Metroland Media Group Ltd. Websites: Hamilton Spectator | The Record (Kitchener) | Guelph Mercury | The Toronto Star

For an extensive list of Ontario local newspapers: https://metroland.com/newspapers/

Newspapers and Newspaper Databases

PressReader
PressReader provides online access to today's newspapers from over 100 countries around the world in over 60 languages in a full-color, full-page format. Includes over 5,000 newspaper titles and magazines with access up to a 90-day archive (varies per news source).
Download PressReader App via the University of Regina edurom Wifi to read titles on mobile devices.
Radiant Access allows anyone who has visited the University of Regina campus a PressReader HotSpot, to extend the app access for six days.
Canadian Major Dailies
- This link opens in a new window
The full text database includes national and leading regional papers such as National Post, Calgary Herald, Edmonton Journal,Montreal Gazette, Ottawa Citizen, Regina Leader Post, Vancouver Sun, and the Victoria Times-Colonist.
CBCA Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database
- This link opens in a new window
The Canadian Business & Current Affairs™ Database combines full text and indexed content from all four subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). The content comes from a broad range of Canadian sources, with the majority of content in English and hundreds of thousands of full-text articles in French. The resource includes millions of full-text articles and records from 1933 to current, providing content in Canadian current events, business, science and technology, medical, humanities and the arts, and hundreds of topics.
CPIQ Canadian Periodicals (Gale OneFile)
- This link opens in a new window
An index to Canadian periodicals (English and French), plus full text for some publications; also includes selected sections of The Globe and Mail.
Globe and Mail
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1844 - 2018
Electronic full-page newspaper archive includes all the stories, plus images, advertisements, classifieds, political cartoons, births and deaths from more than 1.4 million pages of Canada's National Newspaper, dating back to the pre-confederation era.
Saskatchewan News Index
An index of stories published in Saskatchewan newspapers. Some of Saskatchewan's top news stories are available here in full-text.

Subject Guide

Robert Thomas

Email Me

Contact:

LY611, Dr. John Archer Library,
University of Regina.
3737 Wascana Parkway
Regina, SK S4S 0A2

306-585-4398