Archer Library: United Nations Resources: Databases

Search Tips

AND requires all specified words to appear in each item

e.g. Aging AND Housing

OR requires any of the specified words to appear in each item

e.g. Adolescent OR Youth

NOT excludes terms not desired

e.g. environment NOT petroleum

Combining ideas

e.g. Housing AND Income AND (Children OR dependants)

Government Publications Databases

There are many databases regarding government publications that can be accessed from the library.

Database List (Government Publications)
Lists databases of government publications available through the University of Regina.
Dag Hammarskjold Library
The online catalogue for UN content, it indexes records and links to full-text of material: all UN documents from 1993, resolutions of the Principal Organs from 1946, Security Council plenary documents from 1946 in English, French and Spanish, supplements to the General Assembly Official Records (GAOR) from 1946, General Assembly plenary meeting records from 1946 in English, French and Spanish. Full-text material is at at the UN Digital Library and the Official Document System (ODS).
United Nations Digital Library (UNDL)
Contains full-text and bibliographic records for UN produced materials (votes, speeches, multimedia, etc.) published starting in 1979. Details at https://research.un.org/en/digitallibrary and short video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HUuM44pkklU.
UNiLibrary
Developed in partnership with the OECD, UNiLibrary is an online repository for publications, databases, journals, data, working papers, and series published by the UN. Topics include international peace and security, human rights, economic and social development, international trade, climate change, international law, governance, public health, transportation, and statistics. Organized into twenty thematic collections, UNiLibrary includes annual publications, book series, journals, working papers, policy briefs, and statistical journals. Non subscribers have read only option to view material. Many publications date after 2009, some publications go back to 1947.

Canada Commons
Access to Canadian e-books, health and public policy documents. Formerly 3 separate collections: Canadian Health Research, Canadian Public Policy, Canadian Publishers.
Canada Commons has become the new home for desLibris/Canadian Electronic Library as of May 2022.
PAIS International with Archives
- This link opens in a new window
An index to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories. Subject areas: agriculture, banking, business, demographics, education, environment, finance, government, health, international relations, law and legislation political science, public administration, social sciences, statistics.
Official Documents System of the United Nations (ODS)
ODS covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Older UN documents are, however, added to the system on a daily basis. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards. The system does not contain press releases, UN sales publications, the United Nations Treaty Series or information brochures issued by the Department of Public Information.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
The Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.