Guide to Archival & Primary Source Instruction

This section highlights some of the particular areas of strength in the archival collections. The main areas include:

• University History
• Saskatchewan Literature
• Visual Arts
• Journalism 

As the official archival repository for the University of Regina, the Archives collects and preserves University records and materials that are of historic significance. Materials date as far back as the establishment of Regina College in 1911. The collection is comprised of materials created and collected by University officials during the course of their work at the University, and a variety of school publications including: the student newspaper (The Carillon), the General Calendar, Statistical Fact Books, student yearbooks, university telephone directories, newspaper clippings about the University, and faculty research and publications. 

The collections linked below may be of particular interest to researchers considering:

• the evolution of programs, events and partnerships at the University of Regina
• student life at the University of Regina, and how it has changed
• how the University of Regina has contributed to larger social and political contexts in Saskatchewan and beyond

The University of Regina Archives holds a considerable amount of records relating to Saskatchewan literature, including manuscripts and personal papers from Saskatchewan writers and publishers. 

This section would be useful to researchers interested in:

• the lives and works of Saskatchewan writers, such as Anne Campbell, Ken Mitchell and Gail Bowen
• the function of Saskatchewan publishing companies, including Western Producer Prairies Books and Coteau Books

The University of Regina Archives collects materials that are related to the history of fine arts in Saskatchewan and other parts of Canada, in addition to materials that document these disciplines at the University of Regina. The Archives collects private papers of individual artists, institutional records of private art galleries, visual art files, and other records that contribute to this cultural history.

Researchers may be interested in using our collections to learn more about:

• the "Regina Five" artists, referring to Ken Lochhead, Art McKay, Ron Bloore, Ted Godwin, and Doug Morton
• the development of the Fine Arts program at the University of Regina 
• the history of the Neutral Ground Gallery 

Since 1983, the collections mandate at the University of Regina Archives has included materials relating to journalism created by institutions and individuals. As a result, the Archives contains a number of records from noted Canadian and Saskatchewan journalists, from the School of Journalism, and the James M. Minifie Lecture Series. 

This collection is of interest to researchers seeking for further information on:

• the development of the School of Journalism at the University of Regina
• the main concerns and priorities of the journalism profession over the years
• research and interviews conducted by specific journalists