Click on each image to view the Quick Find record.
|
The Black Death Horrox, Rosemary |
The Making of the English Patient: A Guide to Sources for the Social History of Medicine Lane, Joan |
The Black Death: The Great Mortality of 1348-1350: A Brief History with Documents Aberth, John |
|
Medical Women: A Thesis and a History Jex-Blake, Sophia |
Galen 'On Demonstration': Reconstruction of a Lost Treatise from Greek and Arabic Sources Havrda, Matyáš; Koetschet, Pauline |
Medicine and Healing in the Ancient Mediterranean World, Proceedings of the International Conference Medicine in the Ancient Mediterranean World (Conference) |
|
Greek Medicine: From the Heroic to the Hellenistic Age: A Source Book Longrigg, James |
The Healing Arts: Health, Disease, and Society in Europe, 1500-1800 Elmer, Peter |
Source Book in Bioethics: A Documentary History Jonsen, Albert; Veatch, Robert; Walters, LeRoy |
Primary source searching in Quick Find requires a slightly different approach.
You may be able to find some primary sources in Quick Find by using the same keywords you used to find secondary sources, but limit your results to specific time periods (on the left).
You can also combine your keyword(s) with some primary source keywords, such as diary(ies), pamphlet(s), letter(s), source(s), correspondence, speech(es), manuscript(s), personal narrative(s), interview(s), firsthand, eyewitness, autobiography(ies), biography(ies).
Click the image below to watch a primary source search in Quick Find.
If you find a scholarly, secondary source well-suited to your topic of interest, scroll to the end of the article and spend some time studying its bibliography.
Not only will the list point you in the direction of other secondary sources on the topic, but chances are it will cite key primary sources as well. Use the bibliographic information listed in the bibliography to help track down the primary source in Quick Find, a primary source database, or even on the internet.
If you need help locating the primary source, contact Carla. It's possible that a digitized copy of the source may be available through interlibrary loan.
U of R Libraries subscribe to a number of digitized primary source collections. To see what is available, click on the Databases tab on the the library home page. Select History in the Subject box, and Primary Sources in the Types box. Some good ones for this assignment might be:
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Click the image below to watch a primary source search in a database.
