This assignment requires you to examine the arguments presented in a peer-reviewed article. In order to find such an article, you may wish to:
1. browse through some recent issues of academic journals in the philosophy of religion
2. search Quick Find using keywords or key phrases
3. search subject-specific databases using keywords or keyphrases
4. use Google Scholar
Suggestions for each of these search options is provided on this page. Scroll down to view boxes on each of these four methods.
This assignment requires you to examine the arguments presented in a peer-reviewed article. In order to find such an article, you may wish to browse through some recent issues of academic journals in the philosophy of religion. Scroll to the bottom of this box for video demonstrations for each of these methods. To browse the journals subscribed to by the University of Regina Libraries, you can:
1. Search for your desired journal using Quick Find
2. Browse or search for e-journals using Journal Search
3. Browse e-journals using BrowZine
4. See the list of suggested journals below and click on the links
International Journal for Philosophy of Religion
TheoLogica: An International Journal for Philosophy of Religion and Philosophical Theology
Bijdragen: International Journal in Philosophy and Theology
If you have a topic in mind that you want to find an article about, but may not necessarily know which journals to browse, you can access articles by searching for keywords in Quick Find. Quick Find is the most comprehensive way to search for library material (including books and journal articles) at the U of R. To access Quick Find, go to the library homepage. Quick Find is the first tab that appears. You may wish to click Advanced Search below the search box.
To limit to scholarly journal articles only, be sure to check Peer-Reviewed Journals under Availability on the left, and Articles as your Resource Type; and to search for articles that contain your keywords anywhere in the text (not just cataloguing records), be sure to toggle on Search in Full Text. For this particular assignment, you may also find it useful to set your publication date filter from 2020 to 2023.
Click on the screenshot below to watch a video demonstration of using keywords in Quick Find to look for articles about a particular topic.
A library database is a searchable digital index of published, reliable resources. Databases provide access to research materials from academic journals, newspapers, and magazines. Some databases also include statistics and data, market and industry research, laws and legislations, e-books, relevant Web resources, and multimedia.
Databases can be multidisciplinary or they can specialize in specific subject areas. Search more than one database for a comprehensive search on a topic. Although there may be some overlap, each database contains different resources and provides different results.
In most cases, you can find what you need in our databases by searching in Quick Find. This catalogue searches for material across most of our databases all at once. However, sometimes you may need to access a specific database
The U of R Libraries have access to 400+ databases for your research. Use the Subject and Database Type filters to find databases that are relevant to the topic or type of material you're interested in. Here is a list of databases that might be helpful for PHIL 242. Click on the video files below to watch demonstrations on searching each.
There are pros (ease of use, breadth of subject areas searched) and cons (full-text not always available, not all results are scholarly) to using Google Scholar.
It is important that you configure your Google Scholar settings to allow access to U of R databases. Instructions can be found here.
For other tips, see Robert Thomas's Google Scholar LibGuide.
