CLAS 291: Introduction to Classical Archaeology (Ramsey, Winter 2025): Secondary Sources: Articles

Quick Find is a search tool that will help you locate research materials in all four campus libraries. You can use this tool to search for peer-reviewed journal articles (although you can search for many other types of materials as well, by changing the Resource Type filters). You can access Quick Find from the Library home page.

To search for journal articles in Quick Find:

• Log into Quick Find (top right corner of the screen) using your Novell username and password.
• Enter your search terms (for searching tips, see Archer Library's Quick Find LibGuide).
• Under Modify my results in the left column, select Peer-reviewed journals (under the Availability heading).
• Under Resource Type, select Articles.

• When you find an item you would like to view, click on the item's title to bring you to the item record.
• Under the View Online heading, select the database link (or one of the database links; sometimes an article is available in more than one database).
• Once you are brought to the article's item record, locate the link to the PDF file to view it.

Please note that if you are working off campus, most of the library's online resources require that you log in with your uregina username and password.

JSTOR is a multidisciplinary database with full-text backfiles of more than 1000 journals. 

Search tips:

• Use quotation marks to search for a phrase (e.g. “First Nations”).
• Use the * wildcard symbol to replace one or more letters (e.g. technolog* retrieves technology, technological, technologies, technologically, etc.).
• Use the ? wildcard to replace exactly one letter (e.g. wom?n retrieves woman and women).
• From the Search Results page you can narrow your search by selecting filters in the Refine Results column on the left side of the page.
• When you find an article that you would like to read, click on the Download PDF link on the item record page.

For additional assistance searching in JSTOR, please see the Support link available from the JSTOR homepage.

If you are unable to find a book or article through the library's catalogue or databases, you can make an interlibrary loan (ILL) request to obtain this material from another library. 

Just ask for help at Campion Library, or you can check out the ILL webpage for more details.

Please note that ILL can be very quick -- but it can also take days, or even weeks to complete (since the material is coming from another library), so it's a good idea to plan ahead and start your research early.

If you would like to search the contents of just one journal at a time:

• Log into Quick Find.
• Type the journal title in the search field.
• If the journal appears in the search results, click on Online access, then select the database with the most relevant date coverage.
• Most databases will have a "Search within this publication" option in which you can enter relevant search terms.

Note that searching within a publication will retrieve fewer results, so it is best to keep your searches basic.

Also note that peer-reviewed journals also contain book reviews and other materials, so make sure you limit your results to articles only, when possible.

You may also find it helpful to search these other databases for journal articles. Please note that if you are working off campus, most of these resources require you to log in with your uregina.ca username and password.

• Academic OneFile Select (formerly Expanded Academic ASAP) is a multidisciplinary database with journal articles from 1980 to the present, with full text available for many articles.
• Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database indexing articles from more than 9,500 journals.
• Project MUSE contains full-text articles in the humanities, social sciences, and education. 

Please note: Some of these resources include citations only; that means that you will need to track down the actual article elsewhere. If you need help with this step (or at any point along the way) please feel free to contact the Librarian for assistance.