Archer Library: Bilingual Nursing Program: Indigenous health

Useful Websites

National Collaborating Centre for Indigenous Health
The NCCIH, through funding provided by the Public Health Agency of Canada, works to support and create public health information that is inclusive and respectful to Indigenous peoples in Canada. This resource, hosted by the University of Northern B.C., contains news, publications, multimedia, and links about Indigenous Health in Canada/
Canadian Indigenous Nurses Association
CINA links to several other Indigenous Health resources and publications.
CNA Indigenous Health Resources
Contains reports and links regarding Indigenous Health and Nursing.
Institute of Indigenous Peoples' Health
The Institute of Indigenous Peoples' Health (IIPH), from the Government of Canada, fosters the advancement of a national health research agenda to improve and promote the health of First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples in Canada, through research, knowledge translation and capacity building. The Institute's pursuit of research excellence is enhanced by respect for community research priorities and Indigenous knowledge, values and cultures.
HealthCareCAN - Indigenous Healthcare
HealthCareCAN is a member of the Indigenous Health Alliance and has designed education programs with the Canadian Indigenous Nurses Association to educate and promote Indigenous Health.
Government of Canada - Indigenous Health
Contains resources and information on Government of Canada policies and practices regarding Indigenous Health.
Indigenous Peoples' Health Research Centre
The IPHRC is a partnership between the First Nations University of Canada, the University of Regina, and the University of Saskatchewan. They work to develop capacity for community-based Indigenous health research in Saskatchewan and to create networks of Indigenous health researchers regionally, nationally, and internationally.
Aboriginal Sexual Health
Contains resources for Health Professionals, Indigenous women and families, Indigenous youth, and Community initiatives.

Searching for Resources

Indigenous Health QuickFind Search
Looking for materials on Indigenous Health? This link will provide you with materials on Indigenous Health available through Archer Library, First Nations University Library, Campion College, and Luther College.
First Nations University Popular Subject Searches
Additional subject searches related to Indigenous topics. These links will provide lists of QuickFind resources available through FNU and the University of Regina.
University of Alberta Libraries Health Sciences Search Filters
Searching for research on Indigenous Health can be difficult as databases and subject terms may still use dated or culturally insensitive controlled vocabulary. The University of Alberta Libraries have created search filters that make searching for Indigenous Health content easier.

Databases

Indigenous Studies Portal
"The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) connects faculty, students, researchers and members of the community with electronic resources: books, articles, theses, documents, photographs, archival resources, maps, etc.
The vision of the Indigenous Studies Portal is to provide one place to look to find resources for Indigenous studies.
This Indigenous Studies Portal is being developed by the University of Saskatchewan Library. "
Informit Indigenous Collection
Please select "Only show content I have full access to" to limit search.

The Informit Indigenous Collection covers both topical and historical issues within Indigenous studies. The multi-disciplinary and inter-disciplinary framework provides access to emergent and groundbreaking research within the global community, and offers scope for critical international engagement and debate. With material from Australia, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, North America and The Pacific, the Informit Indigenous Collection is a platform for Indigenous worldviews. Over 15,700 full text records from 111 resources, starting from 1977.
The database also consists of specialist journals, conference papers, reports, magazines, e-books and grey literature unavailable elsewhere online.
The Informit Indigenous Collection provides access to emergent and groundbreaking research within the global community. This database will benefit professionals and researchers involved with Indigenous issues including anthropologists, archaeologists, people working in government departments, health services, legal services, as well as Aboriginal land councils and other Indigenous organisations. The Informit Indigenous Collection is sourced from peak professional bodies and key partners including the Aboriginal Studies Press, Aboriginal and Islander Health Worker Journal, Aboriginal Inc., Nga Pae o te Maramatanga, African Studies Association of Australasia and the Pacific, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies Unit, Fiji Institute of Applied Studies, Center of World Indigenous Studies, Polynesian Society, Ateneo de Manila University Press, Philippine Studies Association of Australia, Malaysian Studies and many more.
Indigenous Peoples North America
- This link opens in a new window
"Indigenous Peoples: North America provides users with a robust, diverse, informative source that will enhance research and increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada. Researchers will explore the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge through the use of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more."

Native Health Database
The Native Health Database is an American database containing bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The database provides information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American Indigenous Peoples.

Useful Journals, Articles, and Reports

International Journal of Indigenous Health
Created to advance knowledge and understanding to improve Indigenous health, this journal contains peer-reviewed, online, open-access health research across disciplines, Indigenous communities, and countries.
Saskatchewan Health Authority Indigenous Health Summary of Findings
PDF report on the state of Indigenous health in Saskatchewan.

Article:

Stansfield, D. & Browne, A. (2013). The relevance of Indigenous knowledge for nursing curriculum. International Journal of Nursing Education Scholarship, 10(1), pp. 143-151. Doi:10.1515/ijnes-2012-0041.

Article:

Cameron, B., Plazas, del Pilar Carmargo Plazas, M., Santos Salas, A., Bourque Bearskin, L., & Hungler, K. (2014). Understanding Inequalities in access in health care services for Aboriginal people: A call for nursing action. Advances in Nursing Science, 37(3), E1-E16. Doi: 10.1097/ANS.0000000000000039.

Useful Books

Diagnosing the Legacy by Larry Krotz
Call Number: RC 662.18 K76 2018
ISBN: 9780887558238
Publication Date: 2018
Available through First Nations University Library and online access.
Medicine Unbundled: A Journey Through the Minefields of Indigenous Health Care by Gary Geddes
Call Number: RA 450.4 I53 G43 2017
ISBN: 177203164X
Publication Date: 2017
Available through First Nations University Library
Healing Traditions by Laurence J. Kirmayer (Editor); Gail Guthrie Valaskakis (Editor)
Call Number: RC 451.5 I5 H43 2009
ISBN: 9780774815239
Publication Date: 2008
Also available online
Clearing the Plains by James Daschuk
Call Number: E 78 C2 D37 2013
ISBN: 9780889772960
Publication Date: 2013-05-13
E-text is available in the library catalogue. Click the title link above to view.
Separate Beds by Maureen K. Lux
ISBN: 9781442613867
Publication Date: 2018
Online Resource
Determinants of Indigenous Peoples' Health by Margo Greenwood
Call Number: RA 450.4 I53 D48 2018
ISBN: 9781773380377
Publication Date: 2018
Available through First Nations University Library

Bilingual Nursing Program: Indigenous health

A Note on Terminology

Useful Websites

Searching for Resources

Databases

Useful Journals, Articles, and Reports

Useful Books