General Collections Policy: II. Collections Guidelines

2.1   Selection Responsibility

Subject Liaison Librarians are responsible for selecting material in their assigned areas, and work with faculty to coordinate recommendations originating from within their own departments and faculties.

• The University of Regina Dr. John Archer Library & Archives does generally not accept solicitations from authors.
• Employees of the University, students, and the general public may request that material be added to the collection by submitting a web form that is available here. 

 2.1.1 Criteria for selection

Selection involves the planned identification and review of items best suited to strengthen the University of Regina's resources for support of its curriculum and faculty research.  Specific criteria include:

• Anticipated use.
• Curriculum relevance and level.
• Positive reviews or evaluations.
• Quality of content and accuracy.
• Reputation of publisher, author, etc.
• Unique or fills a gap in the collection.
• Anticipated lifespan.
• Languages.
  • The primary language for material collected is English.  Items in other languages will be purchased only if of major significance to teaching or research, and not available in English.
• Publication dates.
  • Primary emphasis will be placed on material published within the preceding ten years.  Material on the historical development of a discipline will be acquired as necessary.
• Geographical areas
  • There are no specified geographic restrictions.  The emphasis on English-language material may introduce some de facto geographical restrictions.
• Editions
  • Latest editions are preferred; older editions may be retained if they are considered classic works.

2.2 Multiple copies: see Dr. John Archer Library policy.

2.3 Donations: see Dr. John Archer Library policy. 

2.4 Collection Maintenance: Subject Liaison Librarians are responsible for maintaining the collections in their areas.

2.5 Formats:The Library acquires materials in all formats (paper, electronic, microform, etc.) giving consideration to their appropriateness or usefulness. All streaming video requests for specific courses will be considered.  The library usually acquires material for use by all members of the University community.

 2.6 Levels: Generally, materials are relevant to the research and teaching needs of faculty and staff, or are in support of the curriculum.  These materials may be written at either scholarly or introductory levels.

2.7 Excluded Materials: In general, no types of materials are specifically excluded.  Introductory textbooks, a book designed to be used in the classroom to introduce students to a subject, are usually not purchased.  The Library does not normally purchase printed maps.

2.8 Weeding: It involves the planned removal of items that no longer support the University's curriculum.  Subject Liaison Librarians are responsible for weeding material in their assigned areas and, if necessary, with the consultation of faculty and the Collections and Assessment Team.  Weeding criteria depends on the subject matter but can include:

• Poor condition.
• Out of date.
• Later editions available.

2.8.1 Original Works

No original works or facsimile editions (for example art, music, literature) shall be removed from the collection.

2.9 Challenged Materials:  The Library recognizes that some library users might challenge the validity, truth, scholarship, politics, morality, etc. of its materials and request their removal from the collection, relegation to a specific area, or reclassification of the subject.   Materials are selected according to general collections policy section 2.1.1.  All formal challenges to or complaints about the collection should be brought to the attention of the Collections and Assessment Team.  The Dean, University Libraries & Archives, reserves the right to make the final decision on the retention of all items in the collection.