Transcultural Nursing Theory and Models: Application in Nursing Education, Practice, and Administration by Acns-BC,, Edd Sagar" This volume is the first to examine and promote the application of current, major transcultural nursing (TCN) theory and models and assessment tools in nursing education, practice, and administration. As a comprehensive text for master's and bachelor's level nursing students, it features case studies, care plans, initial role playing exercises, and implications of TCN concepts when planning, implementing and evaluating client care.TCN Theory, Models, and Assessment Guide Discussed: Leininger's Theory of Culture Care Diversity and Universality Purnell's Model for Cultural Competence Campinha-Bacote's Biblically Based Model of Cultural Competence Giger and Davidhizar's Transcultural Assessment Model Spector's Health Traditions Model Andrews and Boyle's Transcultural Nursing Assessment Guide for Individuals and Families Key Features: Reviews one theory and four major TCN models plus one TCN assessment guide Provides assessment tools, case studies, and role playing exercises Discusses implications of TCN concepts for planning, implementing and evaluating client care Reviews TCN in an international context Offers NCLEX-type test questions and answers in each section Fulfills AACN content guidelines for cultural competency "
Publication Date: 2013-06-04
White Benevolence by Amanda Gebhard (Editor); Sheelah McLean (Editor); Verna St. Denis (Editor)When working with Indigenous people, the helping professions --education, social work, health care and justice -- reinforce the colonial lie that Indigenous people need saving. In White Benevolence, leading anti-racism scholars reveal the ways in which white settlers working in these institutions shape, defend and uphold institutional racism, even while professing to support Indigenous people. White supremacy shows up in the everyday behaviours, language and assumptions of white professionals who reproduce myths of Indigenous inferiority and deficit, making it clear that institutional racism encompasses not only high-level policies and laws but also the collective enactment by people within these institutions. In this uncompromising and essential collection, the authors argue that white settler social workers, educators, health-care practitioners and criminal justice workers have a responsibility to understand the colonial history of their professions and their complicity in ongoing violence, be it over-policing, school push-out, child apprehension or denial of health care. The answer isn't cultural awareness training. What's needed is radical anti-racism, solidarity and a relinquishing of the power of white supremacy.
Call Number: HV3176 .W45 2022
Publication Date: 2022-06-21
Diversity and Inclusion in Quality Patient Care by Anna Walker Jones (Editor); Marcus L. Martin (Editor); Sheryl Heron (Editor); Lisa Moreno-Walton (Editor)No other hospital department cares for patients as diverse as those who come to the Emergency Department (ED). These patients encompass all stages and positions of life and health. Many belong to distinct minority cultures defined by the patient's sexual orientation and gender identity, disability, spirituality, language, race, and ethnicity. It has been well documented that minorities experience inadequate emergency treatment and face poorer healthcare outcomes. Furthermore, research has established that the elderly, ethnic minorities, the poor, and persons with Medicaid coverage are more likely than other people to utilize the emergency department rather than primary care services. With the passage of the Affordable Care Act, particularly the Medicaid expansion, EDs across the United States are poised to care for an unprecedented number of underserved minorities. The need to equip emergency healthcare professionals to practice medicine that is culturally competent in the broadest possible sense has never been greater. Diversity and Inclusion in Quality Patient Care aims to fill this need.
Publication Date: 2015-12-18
Caring for Patients from Different Cultures by Geri-Ann GalantiHealthcare providers in the American medical system may find that patients from different cultures bring unfamiliar expectations, anxieties, and needs into the examination room. To provide optimal care for all patients, it is important to see differences from the patient's perspective and to work with patients from a range of demographics. Caring for Patients from Different Cultures has been a vital resource for nurses and physicians for more than twenty years, offering hundreds of case studies that illustrate crosscultural conflicts or misunderstandings as well as examples of culturally competent health care. Now in its fifth edition, Caring for Patients from Different Cultures covers a wide range of topics, including birth, end of life, communication, traditional medicine, mental health, pain, religion, and multicultural staff challenges. This edition includes more than sixty new cases with an expanded appendix, introduces a new chapter on improving adherence, and updates the concluding chapter with examples of changes various hospitals have made to accommodate cultural differences. Grounded in concepts from the fields of cultural diversity and medical anthropology, Caring for Patients from Different Cultures provides healthcare workers with a frame of reference for understanding cultural differences and sound alternatives for providing the best possible care to multicultural communities.
Publication Date: 2014-12-19
Transcultural Nursing by Joyce Newman GigerGiger and Davidhizar's unique transcultural model of clear, easy-to-apply assessment and intervention strategies is the definitive source for use in the clinical setting! This authoritative resource will help you learn to identify the six key cultural phenomena used in caring for clients from different backgrounds (communication, space, social organization, time, environmental control, and biological variations), and help you apply these phenomena to a variety of individuals in different cultures. Unique! Giger & Davidhizar's Transcultural Assessment Model devotes a full chapter to each of the six aspects of cultural assessment (communication, space, social organization, time, environmental control, and biologic variations) to help you apply this model to any client of any culture. Expert author Joyce Newman Giger is a pioneer in the field of transcultural nursing. Case studies and critical thinking questions help you apply the assessment framework in practice. UNIQUE! Sample care plans demonstrate how to apply principles to specific client needs. UNIQUE! Discussion of the spiritual component provides a more holistic, integrated approach to culture and assessment. Clarification of biologic variations for select cultural groups raises awareness of potential risks/influences on client health. 2010 census data is incorporated through the book to provide the most current analysis of demographic trends. Completely revised cultural chapters reflect the shifting experiences of different cultural groups in our society. NEW! 6 additional cultural chapters on Nigerians, Uganda Americans, Jordanian Americans, Cuban Americans, Amish Americans, and Irish Americans
Call Number: RT 86.54 T723 2013
Publication Date: 2012-02-17
Textbook for Transcultural Health Care: a Population Approach by Larry Purnell (Editor); Eric Fenkl (Editor)This textbook is the new edition of Purnell's famous Transcultural Health Care, based on the Purnell twelve-step model and theory of cultural competence. This textbook, an extended version of the recently published Handbook, focuses on specific populations and provides the most recent research and evidence in the field. This new updated edition discusses individual competences and evidence-based practices as well as international standards, organizational cultural competence, and perspectives on health care in a global context. The individual chapters present selected populations, offering a balance of collectivistic and individualistic cultures. Featuring a uniquely comprehensive assessment guide, it is the only book that provides a complete profile of a population group across clinical practice settings. Further, it includes a personal understanding of the traditions and customs of society, offering all health professionals a unique perspective on the implications for patient care.
Call Number: RA418.5.T73 T49 2021
Publication Date: 2020-09-06
Culture Care Diversity and Universality: a Worldwide Nursing Theory by Madeleine M. Leininger; Marilyn R. McFarlandThe latest edition of Madeleine Leininger's book, Culture Care Diversity & Universality: A Worldwide Nursing Theory, Second Edition remains the primary and most comprehensive source on the Culture Care Theory with the Sunrise Enabler and the Ethnonursing Research Method. Nurses and other health professionals will continue to find Culture Care Diversity & Universality the most reliable guide for providing culturally congruent, competent, and safe care in a growing multicultural world.
Call Number: RT 86.54 C85 2006
Publication Date: 2005-11-17
American Indian Health and Nursing by Margaret P. Moss" A]n extraordinary textbook that addresses the historical and national impact of healthcare and nursing on the American Indian... Although written for nurses, the usefulness of this healthcare textbook extends far beyond this professional practice. Anyone who wants to understand how healthcare is delivered to the American Indian population will be become well informed while immersed in this text. In this day of indigenizing the academy, including nursing, this textbook would be an excellent resource in Native Studies, Sociology, Psychology, Medicine, or Education." --Karen Doty-Sweetnam, Department of Psychiatric Nursing, Faculty of Health Studies, Brandon University, The Canadian Journal of Native Studies The first book to examine the profound disparities in American Indian health, and how they can be remedied, through a nursing lens The average life expectancy of a male born on the Pine Ridge reservation in South Dakota today is somewhere in the mid-40s'the lowest life expectancy of all peoples not only in the United States but the entire Western Hemisphere. Written by and for nurses, this is the first text to focus exclusively on American Indian health and nursing. In fact, it is likely the only nursing book to even mention American Indian health as a distinct entity. The text addresses the profound disparities in policy, health care law, and health outcomes that affect American Indians, and describes how these disparities, woven into the cultural, environmental, historical, and geopolitical fabric of American Indian society, are responsible for the marked lack of well-being among American Indians. American Indian nurse authors, natives of nine unique American Indian cultures, address the four domains of health' physical, mental, spiritual, and emotional' within each region to underscore the many stunning inequalities of opportunity for health and well-being within the American Indian culture compared with Anglo culture. In an era of cultural competency, these expert nurse authors bring awareness of what is perhaps the least understood minority population in the United States. The text covers the history of American Indians with a focus on the drastic changes that occurred following European contact. Included are excerpts from relevant journal articles, historical reports, interviews with tribal health officials, and case studies. The book addresses the roots of American Indian nursing, including coverage of indigenous knowledge and traditional approaches to health and healing. It examines current issues surrounding American Indian nursing, nursing education, and health care within 10 distinct American Indian cultural populations, including a crucial discussion of the health care needs of American Indians living in urban areas. KEY FEATURES: Focuses exclusively on American Indian health and nursing' the first book to do so Written by American Indian nurses Covers four domains of health: physical, mental, spiritual, and emotional Highlights nine specific cultural areas spanning Indian Country, each with its own unique history and context, with urban spaces as a final area
Transcultural Nursing Education Strategies by Priscilla Limbo Sagar (Editor)"...[written by one of] the worldís foremost experts in transcultural nursing. This...much-anticipated comprehensive compendium of evidence-based and best practices...contains exceptionally useful...material for nurse educators in academic and staff development settings and...their students." ó Margaret M. Andrews, PhD, RN, FAAN, CTN Director and Professor of Nursing School of Health Professions and Studies University of MichiganñFlint Editor, Online Journal of Cultural Competence in Nursing and Healthcare "...a valuable new resource to support efforts...to provide high-quality care that is culturally appropriate... gives the professional nurse a road map for engaging in culturally appropriate, patient-centered, and high-quality care." óGeraldine (Polly) Bednash, PhD, RN, FAAN Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director American Association of Colleges of Nursing "This ambitious book is a must-read synthesis of the existing knowledge related to transcultural nursing education... builds cultural competence in individuals and in organizations...Dr. Sagar makes an exceptional contribution to...the delivery of culturally competent care in all settings." óPatti Ludwig-Beymer, PhD, RN, CTN, NEA-BC, FAAN Vice President and Chief Nursing Officer Edward Hospital and Health Services, Naperville, IL Associate Editor, Journal of Transcultural Nursing This comprehensive guide to integrating transcultural nursing education (TCN) strategies in academic and in-service institutions is the only text to fulfill the NLN and AACN mandates for promoting cultural diversity and competencies in these settings. Incorporating evidence-based, best-practice protocols, it provides course syllabi and a wealth of additional teaching aids for all education arenas from foundation classes through in-service domains. The text provides a variety of creative strategies for integrating TCN into academia and practice as a separate course or across existing courses (foundation and life span courses, mental health, pharmacology, nutrition, research, community health, critical care, and transcultural concepts in simulation). Pedagogical tools include cultural assessment instruments, self-learning modules, role plays, unfolding case scenarios, continuing education, lesson plans, course syllabi, critical thinking exercises, and evidence-based practice information. The book will be of value to nursing students, faculty, educators in staff development settings, and all other professional nurses who wish to provide culturally competent care for their patients. It is a companion volume to the authorís text Transcultural Health Care Models: Application in Nursing Education, Practice, and Administration. Key Features: Comprises the first text to fulfill NLN/AACN mandates on cultural competencies in education and practice Presents a wealth of pedagogical strategies and teaching aids for academic and in-service settings Includes self-learning modules, case studies, role-playing scenarios, critical thinking exercises, continuing education lesson plans, and course syllabi Incorporates evidence-based, best-practice protocols Covers international partnerships and collaborations
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
The Healthcare Professional's Guide to Clinical Cultural Competence by Rani SrivastavaThis book serves as an introduction to a framework designed to develop cultural competence (a set of behaviours, attitudes and policies that allow professionals to work effectively in cross-cultural situations). The content, reading level, and pedagogy focuses on learning and acquiring the necessary skills to identify and deal with a diversity of cultures encountered in any health care setting. Appendices present information about particular groups, rather than by ethnicity or religion which can be very limiting. Our appendices present information by "populations" as they are clinically encountered (e.g. beginning of life / end of life etc.) Unique approach: looks at populations the way health care workers encounter them, not by ethno-cultural/religious labels Multidisciplinary approach to writing reflects a variety of perspectives and direct front-line experience Discussion is broad and inclusive, integrating different perspectives, but also makes visible the different paradigms used to approach the topic Case studies and questions encourage critical thinking and dialogue
Call Number: RA 418.5 T73 S74 2006
Publication Date: 2006-10-17
Cultural Competence in Higher Education by Tiffany Puckett (Editor); Nancy S. Lind (Editor)It is critical for professors to be able to teach students from a diversity of backgrounds and experiences to achieve success. This book provides an essential insight into teaching cultural competence in colleges and universities across the United States. Covering the experiences and challenges of instructors across disciplines, the chapters focus on the research, practices, narratives, and reflections related to preparing students to be culturally competent. Intended to address how to challenge systems that give power to only majority or privileged cultures, the purpose of this edited collection is to provide a vital resource through which readers can be equipped with the necessary knowledge related to teaching cultural competence. It provides a reference for instructors, researchers, and other stakeholders who are looking for material and strategies that will assist them in preparing students to become culturally competent.
Publication Date: 2020-09-03
An Introduction to Indigenous Health and Healthcare in Canada by Vasiliki DouglasNote to Readers: Publisher does not guarantee quality or access to any included digital components if book is purchased through a third-party seller. First edition named a 2013 PROSE Award Winner in Nursing and Allied Health Sciences This textbook for Canadian nursing and allied health students explores the major health issues of Indigenous populations and how to improve their overall health. The second edition addresses a key development since the first edition was published: an increasing consensus among Indigenous peoples that their health is tied to environmental determinants, both physical and philosophical. This text describes what is distinctive about Indigenous approaches to health and healing and why it should be studied as a discrete field. It provides a framework for professionals to approach Indigenous clients in a way that both respects the client's worldview while retaining a professional epistemology. Grounded in the concepts of cultural sensitivity, competency, and safety--yet filled with practical information--this book integrates historical, social, and clinical approaches illuminated by concrete examples from the field and relevant case studies.New to the Second Edition: Delivers thoroughly updated content, statistics, and coverage of political developments since 2013Includes a complete test bank of multiple choice, true/false, and short answer questions in each chapterProvides sample PowerPoint presentation lectures in each chapterKey Features: Authored by a leading researcher and educator in First Nations and Inuit healthServes as the only up-to-date text on Indigenous health in CanadaEnhances learning with chapter objectives, critical thinking exercises, abundant primary source material, and references
Publication Date: 2020-10-28
Complaint! by Sara AhmedIn Complaint! Sara Ahmed examines what we can learn about power from those who complain about abuses of power. Drawing on oral and written testimonies from academics and students who have made complaints about harassment, bullying, and unequal working conditions at universities, Ahmed explores the gap between what is supposed to happen when complaints are made and what actually happens. To make complaints within institutions is to learn how they work and for whom they work: complaint as feminist pedagogy. Ahmed explores how complaints are made behind closed doors and how doors are often closed on those who complain. To open these doors---to get complaints through, keep them going, or keep them alive---Ahmed emphasizes, requires forming new kinds of collectives. This book offers a systematic analysis of the methods used to stop complaints and a powerful and poetic meditation on what complaints can be used to do. Following a long lineage of Black feminist and feminist of color critiques of the university, Ahmed delivers a timely consideration of how institutional change becomes possible and why it is necessary.