Archer Library: Film and Video: Finding Articles

Japanese Cinema

Studying Japanese Cinema
This is a guide from the Yale University Library to reference and other materials that are useful in the study of cinema in Japan.

Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is the comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
American Film Scripts Online
- This link opens in a new window
American film scripts, produced or written in the 20th century; includes independent films as well as those created by major studios. This edition of American Film Scripts Online (AFSO) contains 386 scripts by 484 writers together with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. When complete, the collection will include more than 1,000 scripts and over 100,000 scenes of life as portrayed in the movies.
Art Index
An index to journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Subject areas: advertising, archaeology, crafts, folk art, graphic arts, interior design, video, film, architecture, and art history.
CPIQ Canadian Periodicals (Gale OneFile)
- This link opens in a new window
An index to Canadian periodicals (English and French), plus full text for some publications; also includes selected sections of The Globe and Mail.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Not all materials listed in Google Scholar are freely available, however,Google Scholar allows linking to the University of Regina Library subscriptions.
If you are on campus, Google Scholar recognizes your location and automatically shows you the link to the library materials: GetIt@UReginaLibrary.
If you are off campus you must add the University of Regina collection in your Google Scholar settings. For information on how this is done see the Instructions
Performing Arts Database
- This link opens in a new window
The database indexes more than 200 international scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals and also indexes a variety of documents such as biographcal profiles, conference papers, obituraries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events. IIPA covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry including dance, film, television, drama, theatre, stagecraft, musical theatre, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, opera, puppetry, magic and more.
Project Muse
- This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE offers access to full text of over 500 quality journal titles from 120 scholarly publishers. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and others.