Introduction
Excellent resources and information on Canadian politics and elections will be found in magazines, newspapers and other journals which are more generally referred to as "periodical literature". The links to the right will bring you to databases focussed on various types of periodicals.
For elections before 2000 it may be necessary to use microfilm copies of newspapers. These are available at the Dr. John Archer Library for several newspapers including the Regina Leader, Regina Leader-Post and the Winnipeg Free Press among others.
Databases
- CBCA Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database
This link opens in a new window
CBCA is a excellent starting point for articles on the Canadian context. It contains many resources including magazines, newspapers, trade journals and related reports. - Canadian Major Dailies
- This link opens in a new window
This database allows you to search all major Canadian daily newspapers including the Star Phoenix and Leader-Post. Most allow full text searching back until 2000 while some go as far back as 1977. An excellent way of reviewing past election campaigns and policy issues. - CPIQ Canadian Periodicals (Gale OneFile)
This link opens in a new window
CPIQ contains many Canadian periodicals in English and French as well as smaller newspapers. - Globe and Mail
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1844 - 2018
Electronic full-page newspaper archive includes all the stories, plus images, advertisements, classifieds, political cartoons, births and deaths from more than 1.4 million pages of Canada's National Newspaper, dating back to the pre-confederation era. - Leader Post
- This link opens in a new window
Search covers two databases: Historical 1883-2010 and Recent Jan 2, 2011 - present (delayed 2 weeks)
Electronic full-page newspaper archive of Leader Post. Coverage includes all the stories, images, advertisements, and classifieds dating back to 1883.
Subject Guide
Robert Thomas
Contact:
LY611, Dr. John Archer Library,
University of Regina.
3737 Wascana Parkway
Regina, SK S4S 0A2
University of Regina.
3737 Wascana Parkway
Regina, SK S4S 0A2
306-585-4398