Archer Library: Biology: Finding Articles

Web of Science

Web of Science indexes over 8,000 international journals in the sciences, social sciences, and the arts and humanities. Additionally, this database allows you to learn who has cited a particular article, and also offers navigation to electronic full-text journal articles.

See tips on searching BIOSIS Previews on the homepage of this Research Guide, a biology focused database available within Web of Science.

Other "Best Bet" Databases

Medline (OCLC)

Covers all areas of medicine, including clinical medicine, experimental medicine, dentistry, nursing, health services administration, and nutrition.
Medline (Ovid)
Option to search Medline using the Ovid interface
PubMed
An index to international journals, covering all areas of medicine.
Use this customized PubMed link if you are an URegina student, faculty or staff to see "University of Regina" links to full text on the PubMed interface or set up filters in My NCBI free account. Instructions for NCBI account

Birds of the World
- This link opens in a new window
"Welcome to Birds of the World, a powerful new resource that brings together scholarly content from four celebrated works of ornithology—Birds of North America and Neotropical Birds (originally published by the Cornell Lab) with Handbook of the Birds of the World Alive and Bird Families of the World (originally published by Lynx Edicions)—into one rich and colorful hub where you can find comprehensive, authoritative information on birds. With the integration of millions of bird observations from eBird and images from the Macaulay Library, Birds of the World is the most powerful ornithological resource ever created."
Science Direct
- This link opens in a new window
Over 1800 full-text journals from Elsevier Science. Major subject areas: biology, biochemistry, chemistry, computer science, business, economics, engineering, environment, earth sciences, medicine, mathematics, physics, and psychology. The University of Regina Library has a current license to access the full text of over 1800 of the journal titles back to 1995 (1993 for Academic Press titles) as well as access to several subject backfile collections with coverage from volume 1, issue 1. Selected books are also available.
Anatomy TV
ANATOMY.TV is a suite of 3D interactive models of human anatomy. Intuitive controls allow the user to zoom, rotate and peel away layers to educate and communicate with an ease and directness that was never possible with print. A wealth of supporting media, MRIs, X-rays, live-action movies and animations are also included to supplement Anatomy.tv's high resolution, computer-generated models.

Google Scholar

Preprint Servers for Biology

A preprint is a version of a scientific manuscript posted on a public server prior to formal peer review. Searching for preprints is a good idea for finding the very latest research on your topic.

bioRχiv—Preprints of articles in all areas of biology.
PeerJ Preprints—Biomedical preprints.
Quantitative Biology—Part of the arXiv preprint server.
Biological Physics—Recent additions of a biological nature to the Physics section of the arXiv preprint server.

Obtaining a Known Journal Article

If you have enough information (as is found in a bibliographic citation) to identify an article, follow these steps to obtain the full text.

Often, the article can be found by entering the title in Quick Find, in Simple Search mode.
In Quick Find, click on e-Journal Titles and enter the title of the journal or the ISBN. If the title of the journal appears, follow the Online access link and then use the article's bibliographic information (year, volume, issue) to find it.
Look up the journal by title of the journal in Quick Find, in Advanced Search mode. When you do the search, set the Material Type to Journals. If the title of the journal appears, follow the Online access link to access the journal; or, for an older issue, you might see a call number for the print journal. This is the most reliable method of finding an article.
If the library doesn't have the journal, or doesn't have the issue that you need, you can order the article through Interlibrary Loan.