Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Click here to search for a complete list of the Library's databases in religious studies.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is the comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
ATLA Religion Database
This full text database is a collection of major religion and theology journals selected by some of the major religion scholars in the United States. Journals representing all major religious faiths, major denominations, and language groups are included. Information dates as far back as 1949, and coverage continues through the present.
Academic OneFile Select (Gale)
Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers across disciplines. The database meets research needs in subject areas including the arts and humanities, social sciences, and science and technology
Full text of backfiles of more than 1100 journals in the humanities, social sciences, sciences and education. Coverage is from volume 1 on, excluding latest 3-5 years.
Click here for a list of electronic journals on Buddhism available online through the Library
Other Buddhist titles:
BQ 2 B8
Library has: v.1(1990)-v.4(1994-1996)
Bukkyåo geijutsu = Ars Buddhica
N 8193 A1 B84
Library has: no.284(2006)- to present
Journal of the International Association of Buddhist Studies
BQ 2 I55
Library has: Microfilm: v.5(1982) - v.9(1986)
BQ 1 W67
Library has: Microfilm: v.24(1975/76) - v.25(1976/77)
Encyclopedia of Buddhism by
Call Number: CAMPION Reference BQ 128 E62 2004
Publication Date: 2005-06-01
Providing a comprehensive overview of one of Asia's most important religious and social forces, the "Encyclopedia of Buddhism describes the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects. In addition to containing entries on Buddhist scriptures, art, architecture, saints, demons, monastic orders, festivals, rites and ceremonies, this new two-volume set explores the history of Buddhism, the different forms it has taken in different parts of the world, and how Buddhism has blended with other religions like Shinto, Confucianism, Taoism and Christianity.