Religious Studies: Reference Shelf

E-book version of 15-volume printed encyclopedia of cross-cultural studies of religions in their social and cultural contexts

Multi-media reference source on the many and various forms of religious commitment

Examines religious beliefs expressed through ritualized behavior and festivals and explores expressions of faith across cultures and religions throughout the world

The most sacred and influential writings the world has recorded are covered A-Z in this encyclopedia. The entries include works from the cities of Mecca, Jerusalem, Rome, Delphi and Salt Lake City; from the Indus Valley and the American West, from classical China, Egypt and Greece.

Coverage of more than 2,300 North American religious groups in the U.S. and Canada

Covers over 1,800 of the most important deities and demons from around the world

Focus is on origins, histories, and functions of each

In the tradition of Voltaire’s Philosophical Dictionary, Ambrose Bierce’s Devil’s Dictionary, and Joseph McCabe’s Rationalist Encyclopedia, this accessible dictionary addresses the contemporary need for a reference book that succinctly summarizes the key concepts, current terminology, and major contributions of influential thinkers broadly associated with atheism, skepticism, and humanism.

Survey of apocalypticism's role in Western history, from its origins down to the third millennium

Covers millennial movements throughout the world

Coverage includes neo-traditional movements as well as movements that derive from the major religions of the world

A reference that seeks to explain the powerful confluence of religion and politics. It features over 240 articles exploring how religion and politics interact in different cultures; coverage of individuals, institutions, countries, events and themes; and a focus on the last 200 years.

Explores the relationships among human beings, their environments, and the religious dimensions of life.

The sacred and profane continue to interface, conflict, and intermingle in novel ways. The Encyclopedia of Religion and Society provides a guide map for these developments. From succinct, brief notes to essay-length entries, this encyclopedia covers world religious leaders and scholars--past and present--in the United States and the world. This comprehensive volume is an essential reference for the study of the anthropology, psychology, politics, or sociology of religion.

Examines issues and history associated with the complex relationship between science and religion. Articles by scientists of many fields, philosophers and thinkers from all the major world religions present a variety of perspectives on major scientific discoveries and their effects on religious belief systems.

More than 145 longer essays, focussed on institutions, movements and ideas

600 articles place all aspects of religious thought and experience in a new light; major themes include comparative study of issues such as mythology, ordination and afterlife