There are two formats for the Chicago Citation Style: the Author Date and the Humanities format. Remember to see if the instructor or journal you are writing the paper for has a preference as to which is used. Whichever style you use be sure to be consistent throughout the paper.
Humanities format PDF of the document on the right.
We recommend that users of this page use the PDF versions of the guide linked on the left hand side of this page. Certain web browsers may irregularly display the spacing of the information below.
Chicago Style (Notes & Bibliography)
The Chicago Citation Style outlined below is based on the Chicago Manual of Style, 16th edition. There are two ways that Chicago Citation can be used: one is called the “Notes and Bibliography” style. This style requires the use of either numbered footnotes or endnotes and has the date at the end of the citation. The second style is known as the “author-date style” uses in text citation eg. (Smith 1999) and has a author-date style in the references (ie. Smith, Murray. 1999 …). Below you will find the full note (used in the initial citation), some examples of shortened notes (used in subsequent citations) and finally the bibliographic entry. For further information see chapter 14 of the Chicago Manual of Style.
Book
One author
Note:
Bibliographic entry:
Drury, Shadia. Aquinas and Modernity: The Lost Promise of Natural Law. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield Pub., 2008.
Two authors
N:
6. Barnett Singer and John Langdon, Cultured Force: Makers and Defenders of the French Colonial Empire (Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 2004), 28-29.
8. Singer and Langdon, Cultured Force, 35.
B:
Singer, Barnett, and John Langdon. Cultured Force: Makers and Defenders of the French Colonial Empire. Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 2004.
Three authors
N:
18. George Novack, Dave Frankel, and Fred Feldman, The First Three Internationals: Their History and Lessons (New York: Pathfinder Press, 1974), 34.
21. Novack, Frankel and Feldman, First Three Internationals, 55.
B:
Novack, George, Dave Frankel, and Fred Feldman. The First Three Internationals: Their History and Lessons. NewYork: Pathfinder Press, 1974.
Four or more authors
N:
13. Laurel Kendall et al., Drawing Shadows to Stone : The Photography of the Jesup North Pacific Expedition, 1897-1902 (New York: Douglas and McIntyre, 1997), 114.
16. Kendall et al., Drawing Shadows to Stone, 120-122.
B:
Kendall, Laurel, Barbara Mathe, Thomas Ross Miller, and Stanley A. Freed. Drawing Shadows to Stone: The Photography of the Jesup North Pacific Expedition, 1897-1902. New York: Douglas and McIntyre, 1997.
Editor, translator, or compiler instead of author
N:
4. Allan Bloom, trans., The Republic (New York: Basic Books, 1968), 22.
13. Bloom, Republic, 188.
B:
Bloom, Allan, trans. The Republic. New York: Basic Books, 1968.
Editor, translator, or compiler in addition to author
N:
15. Ernest Hemingway, Dateline Toronto: The Complete Toronto Star Dispatches 1920-1924, ed. William White (New York: Scribner, 1985), 22.
34. Hemingway, Dateline Toronto, 46-48.
B:
Hemingway, Ernest. Dateline Toronto: The Complete Toronto Star Dispatches 1920-1924. Edited by William White. New York: Scribner, 1985.
Chapter or other part of a book
N:
5. Jenny Williams, “Berlin in the Early Life and Work of Hans Fallada,” in Berlin’s Culturescape, ed. Thomas Bredohl and Michael Zimmermann (Regina, SK: Canadian Plains Research Centre, 2008), 64-65.
10. Williams, “Early Life and Work of Hans Fallada,” 72-73.
B:
Williams, Jenny. “Berlin in the Early Life and Work of Hans Fallada.” In Berlin’s Culturescape, edited by Thomas Bredohl and Michael Zimmermann, 53-75. Regina, SK: Canadian Plains Research Centre, 2008.
Chapter of an edited volume originally published elsewhere (as in primary sources)
N:
8. Quintus Tullius Cicero. “Handbook on Canvassing for the Consulship,” in Rome: Late Republic and Principate, ed. Walter Emil Kaegi Jr. and Peter White, vol. 2 of University of Chicago Readings in Western Civilization, ed. John Boyer and Julius Kirshner (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1986), 35.
12. Cicero, “Canvassing for the Consulship,” 41.
B:
Cicero, Quintus Tullius. “Handbook on Canvassing for the Consulship.” In Rome: Late Republic and Principate, edited by Walter Emil Kaegi Jr. and Peter White. Vol. 2 of University of Chicago Readings in Western Civilization, edited by John Boyer and Julius Kirshner, 33–46. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1986. Originally published in Evelyn S. Shuckburgh, trans., The Letters of Cicero, vol. 1 (London: George Bell & Sons, 1908).
Preface, foreword, introduction, or similar part of a book
N:
2. Patrick Joseph Kavanagh, introduction to The Bodley Head G. K. Chesterson, by G. K.
Chesterson (London: Bodley Head, 1985), iii-viii.
5. Kavanagh, introduction, ix-xx.
B:
Kavanagh, Patrick Joseph. Introduction to The Bodley Head G. K. Chesterson, by G. K. Chesterson, i-xxiii. London: Bodley Head, 1985.
Book published electronically
(Optional) If an access date is required by your discipline, include it parenthetically at the end of the citation, as in the first example below.
N:
2. Stephen Ingle, The Social and Political Thought of George Orwell: A Reassessment (New York: Routledge, 2006), http://lib.myilibrary.com/Browse/open.asp?ID=50645&loc=28 (accessed April 23, 2010).
B:
Ingle, Stephen. The Social and Political Thought of George Orwell: A Reassessment. New York: Routledge, 2006. http://lib.myilibrary.com/Browse/open.asp?ID=50645&loc=28.
Journal article
Article in a print journal
N:
8. Perry Anderson, “Two Revolutions,” New Left Review 61 (2010): 88-90.
11. Anderson, “Two Revolutions,” 91.
B:
Anderson, Perry. “Two Revolutions.” New Left Review 61 (2010): 59-96.
Article in an online journal
Include a DOI (Digital Object Identifier) if the journal lists one. A DOI is a permanent ID that, when appended to http://dx.doi.org/ in the address bar of an Internet browser, will lead to the source. If no DOI is available, list a URL. Include an access date only if one is required by your discipline.
N:
33. James Upshaw, Gennadiy Chernov, and David Koranda, “Telling More than News: Commercial Influence in Local Television Stations,” Electronic News 1, no.2 (2007): 70-74, accessed March 11, 2012, doi:10.1080/19312430709336909.
36. Upshaw, Chernov and Koranda, “Commercial Influence,” 76.
B:
Upshaw, James, Gennadiy Chernov, and David Koranda. “Telling More than News: Commercial Influence in Local Television Stations.” Electronic News 1, no.2 (2007): 67-87. Accessed April 27, 2010. doi:10.1080/19312430709336909.
Popular magazine or newspaper article
Newspaper and magazine articles may be cited in running text (“As Adrian Ewins reported recently in the Western Producer on April 22, 2010, …”) instead of in a note, and they are commonly omitted from a bibliography. The following examples show the more formal versions of the citations. If you consulted the article online, include a URL; include an access date only if your publisher or discipline requires one. If no author is identified, begin the citation with the article title.
N:
28. Adrian Ewins, “Port Looks to New Export Opportunities,” Western Producer, April 22, 2010, 68.
29. Mark Steyn, “Your Downturn, Their Upturn,” Maclean’s, March 22, 2010, 54.
34. Steyn, “Your Downturn, Their Upturn,” 55.
B:
Steyn, Mark. “Your Downturn, Their Upturn.” Maclean’s, March 22, 2010.
Ewins, Adrian. “Port Looks to New Export Opportunities.” Western Producer, April 22, 2010.
Book review
N:
1. Jeffrey R. Webber, “A Theory of Globalized Capital,” review of Latin America and Globalized Capitalism, by William I. Robinson, Monthly Review, October 2009, 59.
B:
Webber, Jeffrey R. “A Theory of Globalized Capital.” Review of Latin America and Globalized Capitalism, by William I. Robinson. Monthly Review, October 2009.
Thesis or dissertation
N:
22. Kathryn Vera Burianyk, “The ‘Home front’ in Regina during World War II” (MA thesis, University of Regina, 2003), 22-29.
B:
Burianyk, Kathryn Vera. “The ‘Home front’ in Regina during World War II.” MA thesis, University of Regina, 2003.
Paper presented at a meeting or conference
N:
13. Brian Doyle, “Howling Like Dogs: Metaphorical Language in Psalm 59” (paper presented at the annual international meeting for the Society of Biblical Literature, Berlin, Germany, June 19–22, 2002).
B:
Doyle, Brian. “Howling Like Dogs: Metaphorical Language in Psalm 59.” Paper presented at the annual international meeting for the Society of Biblical Literature, Berlin, Germany, June 19–22, 2002.
Web site
A citation of a website’s content can often be limited to a mention in the text or in a note (“On its Web site, the Regina City Council published in July 2011 a bylaw prohibiting . . .”). If a more formal citation is desired, it may be styled as in the examples below. Because such content is subject to change, include an access date or, if available, a date that the site was last modified.
N:
11. Council of the City of Regina, “Bylaw No. 2006-38 the Regina-Anti-Bullying and Public Fighting Bylaw,” City of Regina, http://www.regina.ca/AssetFactory.aspx?did=2997.
B:
Council of the City of Regina. “Bylaw No. 2006-38 the Regina-Anti-Bullying and Public Fighting Bylaw,” City of Regina. Accessed April 26, 2010. http://www.regina.ca/AssetFactory.aspx?did=2997
Weblog entry or comment
Weblog entries or comments may be cited in running text (“In an article posted to the Get Religion Blog on April 22, 2010, Mark Hemingway noted . . .”) instead of in a note or an in-text citation, and they are commonly omitted from a bibliography or reference list as well. The following examples show the more formal versions of the citations. If an access date is required include it parenthetically at the end of the citation as below:
N:
8. Mark Hemingway, “South Park goes too far or just full circle,” Get Religion Blog, article posted April 22, 2010, http://www.getreligion.org/?p=31967 (accessed April 27, 2010).
B:
Get Religion Blog. http://www.getreligion.org/