Archer Library: Education: Popular Academic Resources

Recommended Books

Ensouling Our Schools by Jennifer Katz; Kevin Lamoureux (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781553796831
Publication Date: 2018
In an educational milieu in which standards and accountability hold sway, schools can become places of stress, marginalization, and isolation instead of learning communities that nurture a sense of meaning and purpose. In Ensouling Our Schools, author Jennifer Katz weaves together methods of creating schools that engender mental, spiritual, and emotional health while developing intellectual thought and critical analysis. Kevin Lamoureux contributes his expertise regarding Indigenous approaches to mental and spiritual health that benefit all students and address the TRC Calls to Action.
Stop the Stress in Schools (online) by Joey Mandel
ISBN: 9781551382982
Publication Date: 2014-10-28
Stop the Stress in Schools argues that conflict does not involve large isolated incidents but small daily frustrations and emphasizes the power teachers have in building a positive classroom environment. This timely book introduces mental health strategies that lead to an environment that supports student well-being, the ability to learn effectively, security, kindness, and motivation. A comprehensive approach to reducing stress for teachers and students, this book features practical examples, activities, samples of student work, and calming strategies that include slowing the pace, increasing positive engagement and interaction, considering the perspective of the student, and celebrating the process instead of the product.

Finding eBooks

Ebook Central
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database of reference, scholarly, and professional electronic books on Proquest platform.

The University of Regina Library has purchased access to several ebook collections. The following include Education eBooks. The catalogue does not list all these ebooks, so these databases should also be checked for ebooks.

Ebsco Ebook Collection
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database of reference, scholarly, and professional electronic books on EBSCO platform.
OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary is OECD's Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD's analysis and data.
OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF).
SpringerLINK
- This link opens in a new window
Over 1500 full-text journals from Springer from volume 1 to 2015.
Access available to selection of ebooks with copyright publication date 2005 and later.

Best Bet Databases - Research

ERIC An index to journal articles and documents in Education. Includes abstracts, with links to ERIC documents (1996 - ) in full-text electronic format.
- This link opens in a new window
Education database This database covers almost 400 leading journals in the field of education. For several publications, full-text coverage dates from 1991 or 1992. For some, full-image coverage dates from 1988; Text+GraphicsTM, from 1996. In all, 397 journals are available in full-text and/or image formats.
- This link opens in a new window
CBCA Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database The Canadian Business & Current Affairs™ Database combines full text and indexed content from all four subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). The content comes from a broad range of Canadian sources, with the majority of content in English and hundreds of thousands of full-text articles in French. The resource includes millions of full-text articles and records from 1933 to current, providing content in Canadian current events, business, science and technology, medical, humanities and the arts, and hundreds of topics.
- This link opens in a new window
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This database combines two related reference works: Mental Measurements Yearbook and Tests in Print.
Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments, containing information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. This resource also includes the complete Tests in Print database. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). A score index permits users to identify what is being measured by each test. Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska.
JSTOR Full text of backfiles of more than 1100 journals in the humanities, social sciences, sciences and education. Coverage is from volume 1 on, excluding latest 3-5 years.More than 3 million of the images from Artstor are now available alongside JSTOR’s scholarly content.
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete is the comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Cabells Journalytics Academic Searchable database of contact, review process, publication and manuscript specification information for scholarly journals in the topics of: Educational Curriculum & Methods Educational Psychology & Administration Educational Technology & Library Science

Best Bet Databases - Classroom Resources

STF Stewart Resources Centre
The STF Stewart Resources Centre is maintained by the Saskatchewan Teachers' Federation and provides resources to meet teachers' classroom, research, and professional development needs.

High School Edition (Gale OneFile)
- This link opens in a new window
Now with over 1100 titles, cross searchable with E-Books, this periodical database is designed for high-school students with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Gale In Context: Elementary
- This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context: Elementary is a database developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. Featuring a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, the most popular search method is moving from a broad subject to a narrower topic using the subject-based topic tree. The curriculum-related, age appropriate, full-text content is from the best elementary reference sources and magazines. This database covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Novelist Plus
Novelist Plus includes reviews of fiction and readable non-fiction titles, accompanied by a suite of Readers' Advisory materials. Provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, and much more for over 200,000 fiction and readable non-fiction titles. The database also includes other content of interest to readers, such as Author Read-alikes, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, book lists on high-interest topics, Award Lists, and Feature Articles.
Curio.ca
- This link opens in a new window
Curio.ca provides streaming access to educational content from CBC and Radio-Canada, including documentaries from television and radio, news reports, archival material, stock shots and more — over 5,000 programs and resources. It is a one-stop destination for outstanding Canadian educational content.
Includes English and French language content. Programs include The Nature of Things, Doc Zone, Dragons' Den, The Fifth Estate, The Passionate Eye, Monster Math Squad, The Current, News in Review, Marketplace and George Stroumboulopoulos Tonight.
Films on Demand (Canada)
- This link opens in a new window
Producers include Films for the Humanities & Sciences, Cambridge Educational, BBC, PBS, ABC News, NBC News, CNBC, CBC, Wide Angle, Bill Moyers Journal, and more.
Films on Demand can also be accessed via the Android or Apple app for mobile devices. Users have to creation account from the “Your Profile” feature on the web version.
After connecting to the database, users have an additional option to create a login to access advanced features such as playlists and favorites.
Licensed for non-theatrical public performance.

Curriculum Guides

Popular Teaching Websites

Canadian Geographic Education
The educational committee of The Royal Canadian Geographical Society, they aim to strengthen the geographic education in the classroom. In addition to increasing the emphasis of geography within the school system, Can Geo Education endeavours to increase the public awareness of the importance of geographical literacy.
Canadian Teacher Magazine
The website contains articles, new resources, and free resources for Canadian Teachers. Topics include instructional strategies, methodologies, classroom management, professional and personal development, and national and international issues.
Education Canada
Large online job board for education positions across Canada.
Open Thinking - rants & resources from an open educator
The blog of Dr. Alec Couros from the University of Regina. Focuses on education, technology, and social justice. Last update is from 2017.
Scholastic Canada
Provides resources for Reading Clubs, Book Fairs, book orders, professional resources, curriculum resources, and teaching support tools.
Teachers Pay Teachers
An online website for educational resources made by teachers for teachers. Resources available for purchase include whole units, assessments, project-based learning, special education, videos, and digital resources.
Teach Junkie Blog
Created and edited by a teacher, this blog allows teachers to share ideas, lesson plans, and activities.