Industry Information - Business 100 - Example Class - Archer Library at University of Regina

About Industry Information

On the left side of this page is a video tutorial for using Library databases to find industry reports. Industry reports are high-quality information that can give you perspective on your company's industry, and position your company within the general trends of the industry.

The databases listed on this page have high-quality industry information, including industry trends, data and statistics, supply chain information, market shares, and more.

It can be useful to find the NAICS and/or SIC numbers (North American Industry Classification System and Standard Industry Classification) for your company. Find NAICS code identification tools here, and SIC code tools here.

Industry Databases

IBISWorld Canada
Canadian, U.S. and global industry sector research reports. Reports include competitors, SWOT, market size and growth statistics.Covering over 700+ industries, each report consists of 30-40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, performance (current & forecast), competitive landscape and more. Search for industries by keyword(s) or browse a list of industries by five-digit North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes.
ABI/INFORM Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Major source for academic journals, trade publications, market and industry research reports, company annual reports, dissertations, and working papers. Also contains country profiles and economic forecasts for most major economies.
CBCA Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database
- This link opens in a new window
The Canadian Business & Current Affairs™ Database combines full text and indexed content from all four subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). The content comes from a broad range of Canadian sources, with the majority of content in English and hundreds of thousands of full-text articles in French. The resource includes millions of full-text articles and records from 1933 to current, providing content in Canadian current events, business, science and technology, medical, humanities and the arts, and hundreds of topics.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni replaced Lexis Nexis Academic.
Contains information from over 15,000 news, legal and business sources. Comprehensive coverage of news and current events, government, business, medical, and legal topics, as well as general reference information is included. Formats found in the database are: international and domestic newspapers, magazines and trade journals, broadcast transcripts (NPR, ABC News, CBS News, and CNN), company financial information, industry and market news, case law, law reviews, medical news and abstracts, and country profiles. Includes business information on over 80 million public & private international companies and 75 million executives. Non-English language news sources are available in Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Dutch. Campus news from some 400 college/university papers and over 50 wire services are also available.
Economist Intelligence Unit
EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit) provides country, industry, management analysis and forecasts on over 200 countries, nine strategic industries, and a full range of management functions through the following services:
ViewsWire provides daily updated analysis and views on business, economic trends, political and market developments from around the world. ViewsWire covers over 200 countries with three years of archived information.
Country reports provides in depth information on issues shaping the country: the political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, sectoral trends, foreign trade and payments. Country Reports covers 200 countries and is updated monthly.
Conference Board of Canada e-Data Service
- This link opens in a new window
Electronic access to over 8,000 regularly updated indicators that forecast the economic performance of Canada, the United States, the provinces, 27 Canadian CMAs and ten Canadian Industrial Sectors. The Consumer and Business Confidence databases are also included. All students, faculty and staff at University of Regina can freely download the data and tables.
OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary is OECD's Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD's analysis and data.
OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF).