Full List of Databases
The Dr. John Archer subscribes to a number of databases which will be useful for research on issues related to globalization. Although these databases may be found in a number of disciplines it is probably best to start with the political science resources below or to try one of the recommended databases at right.
For a full list of political science databases click here and select "political science" from the pull down menu.
Selected Databases
Do you want to search for articles pertaining to globalization but are not sure which database to use? The following list contains databases that are good for globalization research. For more specific databases use the link in the left hand box for the full list presently available. For research in periodicals and newspapers look at the links in the box below this one.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
This link opens in a new window
The Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers. - PAIS International with Archives
- This link opens in a new window
An index to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories. Subject areas: agriculture, banking, business, demographics, education, environment, finance, government, health, international relations, law and legislation political science, public administration, social sciences, statistics. - Economist Intelligence UnitEIU (Economist Intelligence Unit) provides country, industry, management analysis and forecasts on over 200 countries, nine strategic industries, and a full range of management functions through the following services:
ViewsWire provides daily updated analysis and views on business, economic trends, political and market developments from around the world. ViewsWire covers over 200 countries with three years of archived information.
Country reports provides in depth information on issues shaping the country: the political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, sectoral trends, foreign trade and payments. Country Reports covers 200 countries and is updated monthly. - Sociological Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
An index to journal articles, conference papers, books and book chapters, dissertations and book and other media reviews. Subject areas: sociology, cultural anthropology, criminal justice, social work, social psychology, urban and rural development, demography, gerontology, family studies, and ethnic and minority studies. - JSTOR
This link opens in a new window
Full text of backfiles of more than 1100 journals in the humanities, social sciences, sciences and education. Coverage is from volume 1 on, excluding latest 3-5 years.
Newspapers and Periodicals
- Canadian Major Dailies
- This link opens in a new window
The full text database includes national and leading regional papers such as National Post, Calgary Herald, Edmonton Journal,Montreal Gazette, Ottawa Citizen, Regina Leader Post, Vancouver Sun, and the Victoria Times-Colonist. - CBCA Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database
- This link opens in a new window
The Canadian Business & Current Affairs™ Database combines full text and indexed content from all four subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). The content comes from a broad range of Canadian sources, with the majority of content in English and hundreds of thousands of full-text articles in French. The resource includes millions of full-text articles and records from 1933 to current, providing content in Canadian current events, business, science and technology, medical, humanities and the arts, and hundreds of topics. - PressReaderPressReader provides online access to today's newspapers from over 100 countries around the world in over 60 languages in a full-color, full-page format. Includes over 5,000 newspaper titles and magazines with access up to a 90-day archive (varies per news source).
- CPIQ Canadian Periodicals (Gale OneFile)
This link opens in a new window
An index to Canadian periodicals (English and French), plus full text for some publications; also includes selected sections of The Globe and Mail.
Subject Guide
Robert Thomas
Contact:
LY611, Dr. John Archer Library,
University of Regina.
3737 Wascana Parkway
Regina, SK S4S 0A2
University of Regina.
3737 Wascana Parkway
Regina, SK S4S 0A2
306-585-4398