ABC Etymological Dictionary of Old Chinese by
This is the first genuine etymological dictionary of Old Chinese written in any language. As such, it constitutes a milestone in research on the evolution of the Sinitic language group. Whereas previous studies have emphasized the structure of the Chinese characters, this pathbreaking dictionary places primary emphasis on the sounds and meanings of Sinitic roots. Based on more than three decades of intensive investigation in primary and secondary sources, this completely new dictionary places Old Chinese squarely within the Sino-Tibetan language family (including close consideration of numerous Tiberto-Burman languages), while paying due regard to other language families such as Austroasiatic, Miao-Yao (Hmong-Mien), and Kam-Tai. Designed for use by nonspecialists and specialists alike, the dictionary is highly accessible, being arranged in alphabetical order and possessed of numerous innovative lexicographical features. Each entry offers one or more possible etymologies as well as reconstructed pronunciations and other relevant data. Words that are morphologically related are grouped together into "word families" that attempt to make explicit the derivational or other etymological processes that relate them. The dictionary is preceded by a substantive and significant introduction that outlines the author's views on the linguistic position of Chinese within Asia and details the phonological and morphological properties, to the degree they are known, of the earliest stages of the Chinese language and its ancestor. This introduction, because it both summarizes and synthesizes earlier work and makes several original contributions, functions as a useful reference work all on its own.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of China by
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of China provides an absorbing and authoritative account of China and all things Chinese - geography, politics, customs, food and drink, the arts, and a rich and colourful history, from ancient times through to the momentous events of the past decade. Brian Hook and his team of expert contributors have thoroughly revised and updated the Encyclopedia to take full account of the most recent developments in China, from the economic reforms and increased freedoms of the early 1980s to the crisis of 1989 and its aftermath. The book is thus a uniquely broad-ranging account of China for everyone with an interest in the area, which will appeal both as a highly attractive illustrated reference book and as an invaluable source of practical information on a developing superpower.
China Today by
Containing over 200 entries written by scholars working in various disciplines both in the United States and in China, this two-volume resource provides current, accurate, and useful information on the politics, economics, society, and culture of both the People's Republic and Taiwan since 1949. Illustrated and offering both a detailed subject index and extensive cross-referencing, this easy-to-use encyclopedia contains essays on important Chinese leaders and events since 1949, as well as on recent and contemporary political and cultural policies; relations with foreign states; internal poltical, economic, and commercial structures; literature; religion; the role of women; and many other important and timely topics. As China's importance as a political power and an economic force grows so does the need for current, accurate information on the country's leadership, people, policies, and institutions. Containing over 200 entries written by scholars working in various disciplines in both the U.S. and China, this two-volume resource provides such useful information on the politics, economics, society, and culture of both the People's Republic and Taiwan since 1949. Illustrated and offering both a detailed subject index and extensive cross-referencing, the encyclopedia contains essays on important Chinese leaders and events since 1949, as well as on contemporary political and cultural policies; relations with foreign states; internal political, economic, and commercial structures; literature; religion; the role of women; and many other topics of interest to both general and academic readers.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Chinese Culture by
This is the first reference book to digest this vast cultural output and make it accessible to the English-speaking world. It contains nearly 1,200 entries written by an international team of specialists, to enable readers to explore a range of diverse and fascinating cultural subjects from prisons to rock groups, underground Christian churches to TV talk shows and radio hotlines. Experimental artists with names such as 'Big-Tailed Elephants' and 'The North-Pole Group' nestle between the covers alongside entries on lotteries, gay cinema, political jokes, sex shops, theme parks, 'New Authoritarians' and 'Little Emperors'. While the focus of the Encyclopedia of Contemporary Chinese Culture is on mainland China since 1980, it also includes longer, specially commissioned entries on various aspects of contemporary culture in Hong Kong and Taiwan. Including full and up-to-date references for further reading,nbsp;this is an indispensable reference tool for all teachers and students of contemporary Chinese culture. It will also be warmly embraced as an invaluable source of cultural context by tourists, journalists, business people and others who visit China.
Historical Dictionary of the Chinese Cultural Revolution by
"There has never been anything quite like the Cultural Revolution, which disrupted life in the People's Republic of China from 1966 to 1976. It wreaked havoc in the world's most populous country, often turning life upside down and undermining the party, government, and army, weakening the economy, society, and culture. Tens of millions were hurt or killed during this period, and relatively few benefited, aside from Mao Zedong and (temporarily) the Gang of Four." "Historical Dictionary of the Chinese Cultural Revolution provides an extensive chronology that traces the events of the revolution and the introduction puts those events in context and explains them. The bulk of the information is provided in numerous dictionary entries on important persons, places, institutions, and movements. The bibliography points to further resources, and the glossary helps those researching in Chinese."--BOOK JACKET.
Introduction to Research in Chinese Source Materials by
This book serves as a succint and thorough guide to pursuing basic research in Chinese sources. Designed as a tool for both primary and secondary texts, it reviews terminology, modes of organization, and cultural implications that are relevant to Chinese writings in the humanities and social sciences.
Modern Chinese Artists by
The first biographical dictionary of its kind in any Western language, this pioneering work provides short, information-packed entries for approximately 1,800 Chinese artists of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. In recent years interest in modern Chinese art has spread across the globe. Public and private collections are being formed; courses in modern Chinese art are offered in many universities and museums. At the same time, the number of practicing artists in China and the amount of published material have greatly increased. Michael Sullivan's pathbreaking book Art and Artists of Twentieth-Century China, published in 1996, included a biographical index of some eight hundred artists. This volume includes more than twice that number, with entries that have been revised, expanded, and brought up to date. Illustrated with portraits and photographs of more than seventy leading artists, this comprehensive, convenient reference will be an essential tool for anyone interested in the study or collection of modern Chinese art.
新时代汉英大词典 = New Age Chinese-English Dictionary by
New Age Chinese-English Dictionary is a hefty volume that contains over 120,000 terms including popular new words in all kinds of areas. Each entry provides precise explanation and a sample of word usage.
Oxford Chinese dictionary : English-Chinese, Chinese-English = Ying-Han, Han-Ying
An essential reference both for English-speakers learning Chinese and Chinese-speakers learning English, this brand new Oxford Chinese Dictionary offers authoritative, up-to-the-minute coverage, with over 88,000 words and phrases, and 130,000 translations in a practical format. The Dictionary's clear layout makes it accessible and straightforward to use, and a detailed index system of radicals helps you find the entry you need quickly and easily. Chinese simplified characters, orthodox characters, and pinyin forms are given for each. Putonghua tones are included. The Dictionary has also been updated to include the very latest vocabulary, including bioterrorism, e-shopping, WAP phone, domain name, and SARS. The CD-ROM offers an essential and quick reference tool, eliminating the multi-stage look-up process in the print dictionary. The CD contains character recognition and audio pronunciations for 22,000 single-characters.
A Dictionary of Japanese Idioms by
What student of Japanese has not grappled with the amazing diversity and elusive nuances of its idioms? One would not want to confuse, for example, ki ga mawaru (to be considerate) with ki o mawasu (to be suspicious). And it would be useful to know whether your boss is really hara ga tatsu (angry) or merely ki ga tatsu (irritable). Indeed, even a single idiom can have a bewildering number of meanings depending on context; te o ireru, for instance, can mean fixing up (as a house), asking someone to investigate secretly, or making a raid. This dictionary offers the most comprehensive compilation and English translation of those idiomatic expressions that so enrich the Japanese language but fail to find their way into conventional dictionaries. It presents more than 6000 idiomatic phrases under 1000 main entries, including several thousands of idioms never presented and explained in English before. Multiple sample sentences are given for each entry, and furigana allows even beginning students to pronounce correctly and to use the expressions immediately. A thumb index and two-color printing, with all kanji and kana in red, make entries exceptionally easy to access.
The Encyclopedia of Japanese Pop Culture by
In the West, Japanese culture comes in the form of Power Rangers, Godzilla movies, and Sanrio products, but of course the indigenous pop culture is much richer. Rather than focus on what the rest of the world has already encountered, Mark Schilling provides an encyclopedic compendium of books, movies, music, comedians, and cultural scandals that have had the greatest impact in Japan. Thus, for the outsider, The Encyclopedia of Japanese Pop Culture is an insider's guide to post-war Japan. Not content to simply catalog his entries, Schilling provides real depth and analysis in his articles, opening up Japan's rich pop heritage to the world at large.
Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan by
This nine-volume reference contains over 10,000 articles exploring every aspect of Japanese society, history, politics, economy, thought and culture. The 50,000-item index is cross-referenced for easy location of facts.
Merriam-Webster's Japanese-English Learner's Dictionary by
Master Japanese with this durable bilingual reference. Focuses on the most essential words. Includes illustrations, cultural notes, & practical examples for easy learning. Published with Kenkyusha Ltd.