Archer Library: Business 100-006/036 (Deren and Graves F24): News &amp; Media

About News & Media

On the left side of this page is a video tutorial for using Library databases to find newspapers, magazines, and other news/reporting media sources.

Newspapers and other edited media can help you understand public perceptions of your company, and provide information on news items for the company. Be aware that some articles may be intended to be objective, while others are intended to be opinion.

Newspaper Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Major source for academic journals, trade publications, market and industry research reports, company annual reports, dissertations, and working papers. Also contains country profiles and economic forecasts for most major economies.
Canadian Major Dailies
- This link opens in a new window
The full text database includes national and leading regional papers such as National Post, Calgary Herald, Edmonton Journal,Montreal Gazette, Ottawa Citizen, Regina Leader Post, Vancouver Sun, and the Victoria Times-Colonist.
CBCA Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database
- This link opens in a new window
The Canadian Business & Current Affairs™ Database combines full text and indexed content from all four subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). The content comes from a broad range of Canadian sources, with the majority of content in English and hundreds of thousands of full-text articles in French. The resource includes millions of full-text articles and records from 1933 to current, providing content in Canadian current events, business, science and technology, medical, humanities and the arts, and hundreds of topics.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni replaced Lexis Nexis Academic.
Contains information from over 15,000 news, legal and business sources. Comprehensive coverage of news and current events, government, business, medical, and legal topics, as well as general reference information is included. Formats found in the database are: international and domestic newspapers, magazines and trade journals, broadcast transcripts (NPR, ABC News, CBS News, and CNN), company financial information, industry and market news, case law, law reviews, medical news and abstracts, and country profiles. Includes business information on over 80 million public & private international companies and 75 million executives. Non-English language news sources are available in Spanish, French, German, Italian, and Dutch. Campus news from some 400 college/university papers and over 50 wire services are also available.
General OneFile (Gale)
- This link opens in a new window
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.
Saskatchewan News Index
An index of stories published in Saskatchewan newspapers. Some of Saskatchewan's top news stories are available here in full-text.