Skip to Main Content Logo

WGST 300: Missing Indigenous Women: A Global Perspective (Winter 2024): Searching for news articles

Is it primary or secondary?

For the purposes of this assignment, you should stick to news articles written by reporters or journalists that document or describe an event.  They should provide facts about what happened, where and when and who was involved.  They might include eye-witness accounts along with a description of the event.  These are the types of news articles that are considered primary sources.

Commentary, analysis or writing that puts events into a historical context are reserved for editorials or opinion articles.  These are  considered secondary news articles.  Although there is a time and place for this type of writing, these types of nonscholarly secondary sources should be avoided in this termpaper.

Here is a video that helps illustrate the difference.

 

News articles in Quick Find

When searching for newspaper articles, you can use the Quick Find catalogue (see Where to Start tab).  Once there, type in your keyword(s) or search terms and then limit your results (on the left) to Newspaper Articles under Resource Type. You can further limit your results by publication date, subject, language, etc. as needed.

Click on the image below to watch a demonstration.

For more tips and video tutorials about using Quick Find, see Archer Library's Quick Find LibGuide.

News Databases

Press Reader

Allows you to read newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in over 60 languages in a full-colour, full-page format.  Includes over 5000 newspaper and magazine titles in an up-to-90-day archive (varies per source).

Canadian Major Dailies

This full-text database includes national and leading regional Canadian newspapers.

CBCA Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database

Includes many reliable Canadian news sources

 

Click on the titles below to watch video demonstrations of searching in each.