Archer Library: Indigenous Birth Support and Reproductive Health: Videos

Sample of Videos

IBSW Information Video
IBSW Information Video (First Nations University program)

Pass the feather

Video Databases

Academic Video Online
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary video subscription that is available to libraries. It covers a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. The database includes a variety of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, and demonstrations.
Bates' Visual Guide To Physical Examination
- This link opens in a new window
The Fifth Edition of Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.
Curio.ca
- This link opens in a new window
Curio.ca provides streaming access to educational content from CBC and Radio-Canada, including documentaries from television and radio, news reports, archival material, stock shots and more — over 5,000 programs and resources. It is a one-stop destination for outstanding Canadian educational content.
Includes English and French language content. Programs include The Nature of Things, Doc Zone, Dragons' Den, The Fifth Estate, The Passionate Eye, Monster Math Squad, The Current, News in Review, Marketplace and George Stroumboulopoulos Tonight.
Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. I and Vol. II: Foundational Films
- This link opens in a new window
Ethnographic Video Online provides the largest, most comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior. The collection covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.
Thematic areas include: language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles.
Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. III: Indigenous Voices
- This link opens in a new window
The role of the traditional ethnographer is changing as the perspectives and epistemologies of indigenous peoples have taken on central significance in the discipline, challenging earlier representations and implicit “us versus them” constructs. In order to create a platform for indigenous voices to address issues from indigenous perspectives, we have dedicated the third volume of the ethnographic film series to indigenous filmmakers.
This is the only academic collection in the world to offer such a comprehensive resource of documentaries, feature films and shorts made by and for indigenous people and communities. Topics are simultaneously local and global, with particular emphasis on the human effects of climate change, sustainability, indigenous and local ways of interpreting history, cultural change, and traditional knowledge and storytelling.
Content partners include: preeminent artists like Hopi filmmaker Victor Masayesva, Samoan ethnographer Galumalemana Steven Percival, native Hawaiian director Eddie Kamae, and First Nations filmmaker Alanis Obomsawin; distributors such as Vision Maker Media; and organizations like the Secretariat of the Pacific Community, the Indigenous Film Archive of Nepal, the Mexican Film Institute, and the National Film Board of Canada.
Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. IV: Festivals and Archives
- This link opens in a new window
Volume IV provides a space for visual anthropologists of today to showcase and disseminate their most compelling work. With a focus on curating award-winning titles from contemporary ethnographic film festivals, this newly released content will capture students’ attention by connecting them with topics familiar to their own time and place.
Additionally, volume IV unlocks access to rich repositories of previously difficult-to-discover content. Visual anthropology programs at over a dozen universities and institutions around the world house repositories of student and faculty field recordings and edited films. These visual records make significant contributions to cultural and scholarly dialogues, but are otherwise difficult to access. Volume IV will bring such resources together in one place.
Volume IV contains the full catalog of anthropology films from Berkeley Media, formerly known as the University of California’s Extension Center for Media. In addition to dozens of award-winning titles released within the last 5 years, the archive also makes the classic ethnographic works of David and Judith MacDougall available for the first time in streaming format, including The Wedding Camels, Lorang’s Way and A Wife Among Wives. This volume also contains the full archive of films created within the last decade at the University of Manchester’s Granada Centre for Visual Anthropology, one of the first universities in the world to offer a course of study in visual anthropology.
Films on Demand (Canada)
- This link opens in a new window
Producers include Films for the Humanities & Sciences, Cambridge Educational, BBC, PBS, ABC News, NBC News, CNBC, CBC, Wide Angle, Bill Moyers Journal, and more.
Films on Demand can also be accessed via the Android or Apple app for mobile devices. Users have to creation account from the “Your Profile” feature on the web version.
After connecting to the database, users have an additional option to create a login to access advanced features such as playlists and favorites.
Licensed for non-theatrical public performance.