Skip to Main Content Logo

RLST 245 Research Paper (F. V. Greifenhagen): Finding articles

ATLA Scripture Search

Within the ATLA Religion Database, there is a useful option for locating research on a particular scripture chapter or verse.

To access ATLA Religion, click on the Databases tab on the Library homepage.  Then type ATLA into the search bar, or select Find All Databases and find ATLA on the Religious Studies subject list.

Once in ATLA, click on the Scriptures heading (in blue bar above the search boxes).

You will then see a list of biblical books in canonical order.  You can click on the name of the book to see all articles that have been associated with that biblical book, or click [Expand] to get to the individual chapters.  To get to a specific verse, click on [Expand] again.

Using the Scripture Search function is one of the easiest methods to search ATLA for articles about a particular scripture.  There are two other methods: the Bible Citation index and the Scripture Citation search field. The videos below demonstrate each method.

 

Other Databases

Quick Find searches the majority of the U of R's online databases.  However, you may choose to search individual databases to narrow your research down to your specific discipline and to search the full-text of sources.

Some of the databases only contain peer-reviewed, scholarly sources, limiting the need for filters.

Some databases will point you towards "citations" of sources that are not available full-text but that may still be in Quick Find (via another database) or that you could request via interlibrary loan (see below).

Some databases you may want to try for research in RLST 245 are: 

JSTOR

Encyclopedia of Religion

Project Muse

You may wish to check out some other databases pertaining to Religious Studies.  Click on the Databases tab on the the library home page.  Select Religious Studies in the Subject box.

Click on the image below for a video demonstration of using JSTOR.

Quick Find

When searching for journal articles in Quick Find, type in your keyword(s) or search terms and then limit your results (on the left) to Peer-Reviewed Journals and Full-Text Online under Refine Your Search.  It's also a good idea to limit your results to Articles under Resource Type.  Like books, you can add further limits as needed.

Click on the image below to watch a demonstration of searching for journal articles in Quick Find.

Google Scholar

There are pros (ease of use, breadth of subject areas searched) and cons (full-text not always available, not all results are scholarly) to using Google Scholar.

It is important that you configure your Google Scholar settings to allow access to U of R databases.  Instructions can be found here.

For other tips, see Robert Thomas's Google Scholar LibGuide.

Interlibrary loans

If you are unable to find an article through Quick Find, you can make a request to obtain material from another library.  To place an interlibrary loan, go to the library home page and click on the Interlibrary Loan icon that appears under the tabs.  Log in with your ID card barcode and last name.  Fill out the request form with as much information as you can.  Carla can help you with this.  Please note that this service can take a few days, so start your research early!