Is it primary or secondary?
Printed Primary Source Collections at the U of R
Click on each image to view the Quick Find record.
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
Primary Sources in Quick Find
Primary source searching in Quick Find requires a slightly different approach.
You may be able to find some primary sources in Quick Find by using the same keywords you used to find secondary sources, but limit your results to specific time periods (on the left).
You can also combine your keyword(s) with some primary source keywords, such as diary(ies), pamphlet(s), letter(s), source(s), correspondence, speech(es), manuscript(s), personal narrative(s), interview(s), firsthand, eyewitness, autobiography(ies), biography(ies).
Click the image below to watch a primary source search in Quick Find.
Primary Source Databases
U of R Libraries subscribe to a number of digitized primary source collections. Some good ones for this assignment might be:
Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Click the image below to watch a primary source search in a database.
Secondary Source Bibliographies
If you find a scholarly, secondary source well-suited to your topic of interest, scroll to the end of the article and spend some time studying its bibliography.
Not only will the list point you in the direction of other secondary sources on the topic, but chances are it will cite key primary sources as well. Use the bibliographic information listed in the bibliography to help track down the primary source in Quick Find, a primary source database, or even on the internet.
If you need help locating the primary source, contact Carla. It's possible that a digitized copy of the source may be available through interlibrary loan.