Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Required Texts Available Online (Click links below):
1. Alberta. Aboriginal Services Branch, & Alberta. Learning and Teaching Resources Branch. (2005). Our words, our ways: Teaching First Nations, Métis and Inuit learners. Edmonton, AB: Aboriginal Services Branch, Alberta Education.
- A print copy is available at FNUNIV Northern Campus Library: Call Number E 96.65 A3 A333 2005. Find more information about this title or access an online copy by searching the library catalogue.
2. Smith, Dawn, Colleen Varcoe, and Nancy Edwards. "Turning Around The Intergenerational Impact Of Residential Schools On Aboriginal People: Implications For Health Policy And Practice." Canadian Journal Of Nursing Research 37.4 (2005): 38-60. Full-text online copy available here or through UR Courses.
How to Find Children’s Books in the Library
You can use this process to search for children’s books in any online library catalogue. To search the University of Regina’s library collections, do the following:
- Go to the library catalogue at http://voyager.uregina.ca:7008
- Select the Advanced Search option.
- In the first search box, enter the word “Juvenile” and change the search index from Keyword Anywhere to Subject. Another option is to enter the word “Children’s” and change the search index to Holdings Global Keyword. This option will search only the Children’s Collection of the FNUniv Northern Campus Library.
- Enter other search terms in the other search boxes. To look for children’s books on topics relating to native peoples, use the suggested search terms in the picture below. Most library catalogues do not recognize “First Nations” as an official subject, so you'll have better results using alternate keywords.
- Select “Book” for type.
- You can set the location to “ALL FNUNIV Prince Albert Locations” to search only the Northern Campus collection, or leave it at “All locations.”
- Click on “Search.”
- Look carefully at your search results. You will find the list includes more than just children’s books. The catalogue searched for the subject “Juvenile delinquents” as well as juvenile fiction and literature. You can eliminate these topics by specifying NOT “Juvenile delinquents” in one of the search boxes.
- To locate a book, click on the title in the search results list. At the bottom of the book’s catalogue record is a list of locations and call numbers. Write down the title and the call number. This will tell you where to find the book on the shelves.
If you are interested in advanced searching techniques, watch this video tutorial on Boolean searching.
Resources to Help Evaluate Children's Books
Not all children's books on Indigenous topics may be suitable for all audiences. Some may include outdated language, questionable content, or unfortunately even racist perspectives. FNUniv library staff do their best to identify "questionable content" but the following resources may be helpful in helping you make your own decisions.
- How to tell the difference: a checklist for evaluating children's books for anti-indian bias / by Beverly Slapin, Doris Seale and Rosemary Gonzales. Check availability in the FNUniv library collections. Online summary available here.
- A Broken flute : the Native experience in books for children / edited by Doris Seale and Beverly Slapin. Check availability in the FNUniv library collections. Google Books preview here.
- American Indians in Children's Literature (AICL) -- a very useful blog by librarian and educator, Debbie Reese, a tribally enrolled member of the Nambe Pueblo in northern New Mexico. AICL provides critical perspectives and analysis of indigenous peoples in children's and young adult books, the school curriculum, popular culture, and society.
- Native American literature / Katherine Gleason. Check availability in the FNUniv library collections. This book introduces American Indian literature from the early oral tradition to present-day novelists.
- Olate. This California-based website provides critical evaluation of books and curricula with American Indian themes.
If you come across children's books in our collections that you believe include "questionable content" please bring them to the attention of library staff.
Research is a Process
Research is a process, not a product. Researching is like unraveling a mystery, looking for hidden treasure, or solving a crime. Many times you will not find the information you need in the first place you look. Always remember: it takes time to locate good information!
ILL and COPPUL
Inter-Library Loans (ILL)
If there's a book or journal article that you'd like to access that is not held in the collections of FNUniv, U of R, Luther, or Campion libraries, you have the option of submitting an inter-library loan request (ILL). To do so, fill-out an ILL request form here.
COPPUL Reciprocal Borrowing Card
If you wish to go directly to another Canadian university library, rather than use the inter-library loan service, you will first need to acquire a COPPUL reciprocal borrowing card, subject to the following agreement: Canadian University Reciprocal Borrowing Agreement. To obtain a COPPUL card, you will need to contact Carol MacDonald at the University of Regina Library, EMail: email@example.com , Phone: 306-585-4015.