Skip to Main Content Logo

Engineering: Finding Articles

Search Tip

See the page in this guide titled Essential Search Techniques for some valuable information on database searching.

Obtaining a Known Journal Article

If you have enough information (as is found in a bibliographic citation) to identify an article, follow these steps to obtain the full text.

  1. Often, the article can be found by entering the title in Quick Find, in Simple Search mode.
  2. In Quick Find, click on e-Journal Titles and enter the title of the journal or the ISBN. If the title of the journal appears, follow the Online access link and then use the article's bibliographic information (year, volume, issue) to find it.
  3. Look up the journal by title of the journal in Quick Find, in Advanced Search mode. When you do the search, set the Material Type to Journals. If the title of the journal appears, follow the Online access link to access the journal; or, for an older issue, you might see a call number for the print journal. This is the most reliable method of finding an article.
  4. If the library doesn't have the journal, or doesn't have the issue that you need, you can order the article through Interlibrary Loan.

Reports

Transportation Safety Board of Canada—Information and reports on transportation safety in Canada, including transportation disasters.

National Transportation Safety Board (US)—Information and reports on transportation safety in the United States, including transportation disasters.

NASA Technical Reports Server—Articles and reports relating to NASA's discoveries, research, and activities, including reports of accident investigations.

To Begin Searching for Articles

You can start searching for articles quickly using Quick Find. You will retrieve articles and books, and you can limit your results to only articles (or only peer-reviewed articles) if you prefer. A listing of recommended databases that contain material about Engineering is here.  Below are some general and Engineering specific databases.

General Engineering Databases

Chemical and Environmental Engineering Databases

Electrical, Computer, and Software Engineering Databases

Petroleum Engineering Databases

Other Databases