Archer Library: Mathematics and Statistics: Finding Articles

Mathematics Database "Best Bets"

The database I recommend starting with for most searches is MathSciNet, a key search tool in this field.

MathSciNet
An index to the mathematical research literature of the world; announcements of new articles, books, and proceedings to be reviewed. Created by the American Mathematical Society. A "best bet" and good starting place to find research in the field.

►Tip: To get the most out of MathSciNet, see a collection of helpful tutorials at http://www.mathscinet.info/index.html

Web of Science (ON CAMPUS ACCESS)
A key multidisciplinary search tool, indexing over 8,000 international journals in engineering, science, and other fields. I recommend trying Web of Science after searching in MathSciNet.
Web of Science (OFF CAMPUS ACCESS)
Use this link whenever accessing Web of Science from off of the University of Regina campus!

arXiv
A large preprint database of articles in physics, math, statistics, and some other sciences.

Other math-focused and multidisciplinary databases/search tools for discovering research

The Jahrbuch Project
A bibliographic database based on the Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der Mathematick (1868-1942).
AMS Open Math Notes
Freely available works in progress that have not been published elsewhere.

JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of backfiles of more than 1100 journals in the humanities, social sciences, sciences and education. Coverage is from volume 1 on, excluding latest 3-5 years.
SpringerLINK
- This link opens in a new window
Over 1500 full-text journals from Springer from volume 1 to 2015.
Access available to selection of ebooks with copyright publication date 2005 and later.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

See my page on Essential Search Techniques for general tips on combining search terms in the databases.

If you have enough information (as is found in a bibliographic citation) to identify an article, follow these steps to obtain the full text.

Often, the article can be found by entering the title in Quick Find, in Simple Search mode.
In Quick Find, click on e-Journal Titles and enter the title of the journal or the ISBN. If the title of the journal appears, follow the Online access link and then use the article's bibliographic information (year, volume, issue) to find it.
Look up the journal by title of the journal in Quick Find, in Advanced Search mode. When you do the search, set the Material Type to Journals. If the title of the journal appears, follow the Online access link to access the journal; or, for an older issue, you might see a call number for the print journal. This is the most reliable method of finding an article.
If the library doesn't have the journal, or doesn't have the issue that you need, you can order the article through Interlibrary Loan.