Christianity: Reference Shelf

E-book version of 15-volume printed encyclopedia of cross-cultural studies of religions in their social and cultural contexts

Multi-media reference source on the many and various forms of religious commitment

Examines religious beliefs expressed through ritualized behavior and festivals and explores expressions of faith across cultures and religions throughout the world

The most sacred and influential writings the world has recorded are covered A-Z in this encyclopedia. The entries include works from the cities of Mecca, Jerusalem, Rome, Delphi and Salt Lake City; from the Indus Valley and the American West, from classical China, Egypt and Greece.

Coverage of more than 2,300 North American religious groups in the U.S. and Canada

Covers over 1,800 of the most important deities and demons from around the world

Focus is on origins, histories, and functions of each

In the tradition of Voltaire’s Philosophical Dictionary, Ambrose Bierce’s Devil’s Dictionary, and Joseph McCabe’s Rationalist Encyclopedia, this accessible dictionary addresses the contemporary need for a reference book that succinctly summarizes the key concepts, current terminology, and major contributions of influential thinkers broadly associated with atheism, skepticism, and humanism.

This complete visual reference to Christianity worldwide is an invaluable resource for missionary organizations, intercessors, church leaders, and missions-minded believers everywhere! The Atlas of World Christianity offers a rare, panoramic snapshot of the Christian world at the turn of the millennium, including an in-depth look at expected growth trends through 2010. Combining colorful charts, graphs, and maps with fascinating, timely articles, authors Peter Brierley and Heather Wraight provide a thorough examination of the present status of Christianity in every nation of the world. This important volume examines recent history and future trends in areas such as population growth, literacy, education, economic development, and the spread of AIDS. Careful consideration is also given to other major world religions and the extent of their impact. The Atlas of World Christianity is a strategic tool for mission leaders, planners, and all students of missiology. It will motivate, inform, and assist any believer who seeks to understand what God is doing among the nations and to impact the world for Jesus Christ. "The Atlas of World Christianity visually documents the state of the Christian church and the missionary movement worldwide, in light of the larger context of global trends and other world religions. It should prove useful to pastors and mission committees seeking ways to engage the congregation in the challenge of mission." --Dr. Chuck Van Engen Arthur F. Glasser Professor of Biblical Theology of Mission School of World Mission, Fuller Theological Seminary "No serious student of global mission should be without this volume." --Dr. Kenneth B. Mulholland Dean of Columbia Biblical Seminary & Graduate School of Missions Columbia (S.C.) International University

This visual survey examines the traditions, values, cultures, and developments that have made Christianity what it is today.

"Christianity: A Very Short Introduction offers an overview of the world's largest religion. The Author provides information to enable the reader to gain an understanding of Christians and their beliefs.

What is Anglicanism? How is it different from other forms of Christianity, and how did it come to have so many different versions throughout the world? Although originally united by location and a common belief, Anglicanism has gradually lost its pre-eminence as the English state church due to increasing pluralisation and secularisation. In Anglicanism: A Very Short Introduction, Mark Chapman highlights the diversity of contemporary Anglicanism by exploring its fascinating history, theology, and structures. Putting the history and development of the religion into context, Chapman reveals what it is that holds Anglicanism together despite the recent crises that threaten to tear it apart.

Christian images have a long history within the Western art tradition from the narrative and devotional works of the Medieval and Renaissance periods, to the radical new interpretations of the twenty-first century. This fascinating new book explores the changing nature of the representation ofkey themes and subjects found in Christian art, covering the Eucharist, the crucifixion, the Virgin Mary, and the saints. Other sections deal with the changes to Christian art after the sixteenth-century Reformation, and with Christian art in the modern world.Within these themes, the book explores the work of major artists such as Memling, Holbein, El Greco and Rossetti, and well-known examples including the frescoes of St Francis at Assisi. Didactic and consciously devotional works are discussed alongside the controversial work of contemporary artistssuch as Andres Serrano and Chris Ofili.

Crusading fervour gripped Europe for over 200 years, creating one of the most extraordinary, vivid episodes in world history. Whether the Crusades are regarded as the most romantic of Christian expeditions, or the last of the barbarian invasions, they have fascinated generations ever since,and their legacy of ideas and imagery has resonated through the centuries, inspiring Hollywood movies and great works of literature. Even today, to invoke the Crusades is to stir deep cultural myths, assumptions and prejudices.Yet despite their powerful hold on our imaginations, our knowledge of them remains obscured an distorted by time. Were the Crusaders motivated by spiritual rewards, or by greed? Were the Crusades an experiment in European colonialism, or a manifestation of religious love? How were they organizedand founded?With customary flair and originality, Christopher Tyerman picks his way through the many debates to present a clear and lively discussion of the Crusades; bringing together issues of colonialism, cultural exchange, economic exploitation, and the relationship between past and present.

The Encyclopedia of Christianity is the first of a five-volume English translation of the third revised edition of Evangelisches Kirchenlexikon. Its German articles have been tailored to suit an English readership, and articles of special interest to English readers have been added. The encyclopedi

First published in 1997. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

The Bible has had an immeasurable influence on Western culture, touching on virtually every aspect of our lives. It is one of the great wellsprings of Western religious, ethical, and philosophical traditions. It has been an endless source of inspiration to artists, from classic works such asMichaelangelo's Last Judgment, Handel's Messiah, or Milton's Paradise Lost, to modern works such as Thomas Mann's Joseph and His Brothers or Martin Scorsese's controversial Last Temptation of Christ. For countless generations, it has been a comfort in suffering, a place to reflect on the mysteriesof birth, death, and immortality. Its stories and characters are an integral part of the repertoire of every educated adult, forming an enduring bond that spans thousands of years and embraces a vast community of believers and nonbelievers.The Oxford Companion to the Bible provides an authoritative one-volume reference to the people, places, events, books, institutions, religious belief, and secular influence of the Bible. Written by more than 250 scholars from some 20 nations and embracing a wide variety of perspectives, theCompanion offers over seven hundred entries, ranging from brief identifications--who is Dives? where is Pisgah?--to extensive interpretive essays on topics such as the influence of the Bible on music or law.Ranging far beyond the scope of a traditional Bible dictionary, the Companion features, in addition to its many informative, factual entries, an abundance of interpretive essays. Here are extended entries on religious concepts from immortality, sin, and grace, to baptism, ethics, and the HolySpirit. The contributors also explore biblical views of modern issues such as homosexuality, marriage, and anti-Semitism, and the impact of the Bible on the secular world (including a four-part article on the Bible's influence on literature).Of course, the Companion can also serve as a handy reference, the first place to turn to find factual information on the Bible. Readers will find fascinating, informative articles on all the books of the Bible--including the Apocrypha and many other ancient texts, such as the Dead Sea Scrolls,Pseudepigrapha, and the Mishrah. Virtually every figure who walked across the biblical stage is identified here, ranging from Rebekah, Rachel, and Mary, to Joseph, Barabbas, and Jesus. The Companion also offers entries that shed light on daily life in ancient Israel and the earliest Christiancommunities, with fascinating articles on feasts and festivals, clothing, medicine, units of time, houses, and furniture. Finally, there are twenty-eight pages of full-color maps, providing an accurate, detailed portrait of the biblical world.A vast compendium of information related to scriptures, here is an ideal complement to the Bible, an essential volume for every home and library, the first place to turn for information on the central book of Western culture.

Six years in the making, this state-of-the-art dictionary offers the most up-to-date and comprehensive treatment of biblical subjects and scholarship. An essential reference for every serious reader of the Bible. B & W illustrations and line-art throughout.

Contrary to Jesus' wish that his followers 'may all be one', Christianity has become, over time, ever more schismatic. This concise, one-volume dictionary provides information on over a thousand significant denominations and movements, ranging from the mainstream historical churches, for example Roman Catholic and Orthodox, to heretical sects that flourished briefly in the third or fourth centuries to groups that sprang up around charismatic leaders in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Alternatives names are given at the end of entries and are cross-referenced in an Appendix. Such groups include the delightfully named 'Body-felt Salvation Church' in the Torres Strait Islands, with 300 members, and the 'Old Catholic Orthodox Church,' founded in London by (and apparently for) the Most Reverend James Bartholomew Banks, 'known to his friends as 'Piggy' on account of the happy conjunction of his vast inherited wealth and his surname'. The author approaches what might in other hands be a dull catalogue with considerable zest and obvious enjoyment, and the result is a mine of good stories and useful information.

A reference to the men and women who have, over the last two millennia, contributed to the life, history and study of Christianity in all its facets, regardless of denomination. Entries are concise but for the key influencial figures longer essays have been written. Entries range from major Biblical figures to figures of the modern era. Choice is not limited to the Western world, but includes entries from Africa, India and China as well as from Orthodoxy, Greek and Russian. The dictionary should be useful as a reference for the reader interested in church history and the study of Christian faith.

The first edition of this reference work, called the Catholic Encyclopedia, was published around the turn of the 20th century, with the last revised edition appearing in 1967. This new edition includes the best of the previous entries - many completely revised and updated - as well as new entries, written by subject experts, covering the latest topics of interest. Many thousands of articles are biographical profiles of the people who make up the history of the Catholic Church.

A reference to the major eastern branch of Christianity, providing information on theology and theologians, saints, sinners, organizations, movements, places, and events. Covers the entire two-millennia history through the Byzantine and Russian Empires, but focuses on the past 150 years and the mult

For more information including sample entries, full contents listing, and more, visit the Encyclopedia of Protestantism web site. Routledge is proud to announce the publication of a new major reference work from world-renowned scholar Hans J. Hillerbrand. The Encyclopedia of Protestantismis the definitive reference to the history and beliefs that continue to exert a profound influence on Western thought. Featuring entries written by an international team of specialists and scholars, the encyclopedia traces the course of Protestantism from its beginnings prior to 1517, when Martin Luther nailed his 95 Theses to the door of Wittenberg Cathedral, to the vital and diverse international scene of the present day.

This beautifully illustrated book is the most ambitious one-volume survey of the Reformation yet. A timely and much-needed account, it looks at every aspect of the Reformation world and considers new historical research which has led to the expansion of the subject both thematically and geographically. The strength of The Reformation World is its breadth and originality, with material drawn from many different countries, including archival material only recently made available to scholars in central Europe. Topics included are: * the Church before the Reformation * Luther and Germany * the Reformation outside Germany * Calvinism and the Second Reformation * the Reformation and society * arts and architecture * the printed book and visual media.

Examining sources and case studies, this book explores early Christianity, how it was studied, how it is studied now, and how Judaeo-Christian values came to form the ideological bedrock of modern western culture. Looking at the diverse source materials available, from the earliest New Testament texts and the complex treaties of third century authors such as Lactantius, to archaeology, epigraphy and papyrology, the book examines what is needed to study the subject, what materials are available, how useful they are, and how the study of the subject may be approached. Case study chapters focus on important problems in the study of early Christianity including: the book of Acts as a text revelatory of the social dynamics of cities and as a text about the inherent tensions in Hellenistic Judaism orthodoxy and organization in early Christianity  early Christianity and the Roman empire. Also including a comprehensive guide for students that lists major collections of literary and non-literary sources, major journals and series, and major text books, it is an excellent aid to the study of Christianity in history.