General
Encyclopedia of Religion by ISBN: 0028657330Publication Date: 2004-12-17E-book version of 15-volume printed encyclopedia of cross-cultural studies of religions in their social and cultural contexts
Brill Dictionary of ReligionMulti-media reference source on the many and various forms of religious commitment
Encyclopedia of Religious Rites, Rituals and FestivalsExamines religious beliefs expressed through ritualized behavior and festivals and explores expressions of faith across cultures and religions throughout the world
The Encyclopedia of World Scriptures by ISBN: 0786410051Publication Date: 2001The most sacred and influential writings the world has recorded are covered A-Z in this encyclopedia. The entries include works from the cities of Mecca, Jerusalem, Rome, Delphi and Salt Lake City; from the Indus Valley and the American West, from classical China, Egypt and Greece.- Encyclopedia of American ReligionsCoverage of more than 2,300 North American religious groups in the U.S. and Canada
Routledge Dictionary of Gods Goddesses Devils and Demons by ISBN: 9780203643518Publication Date: 2004Covers over 1,800 of the most important deities and demons from around the world
Encyclopedia of Ancient Deities by Call Number: BL 473 C67 2000ISBN: 0786403179Publication Date: 1999Focus is on origins, histories, and functions of each
Dictionary of Atheism, Skepticism, and Humanism by Call Number: BL 2705 C66 2006 (Campion)ISBN: 1591022991Publication Date: 2005-07-05In the tradition of Voltaire’s Philosophical Dictionary, Ambrose Bierce’s Devil’s Dictionary, and Joseph McCabe’s Rationalist Encyclopedia, this accessible dictionary addresses the contemporary need for a reference book that succinctly summarizes the key concepts, current terminology, and major contributions of influential thinkers broadly associated with atheism, skepticism, and humanism.
Buddhist Electronic Books
Paper Reference Books
Encyclopedia of Buddhism by Call Number: CAMPION Reference BQ 128 E62 2004ISBN: 0028657187Publication Date: 2005Providing a comprehensive overview of one of Asia's most important religious and social forces, the "Encyclopedia of Buddhism describes the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects. In addition to containing entries on Buddhist scriptures, art, architecture, saints, demons, monastic orders, festivals, rites and ceremonies, this new two-volume set explores the history of Buddhism, the different forms it has taken in different parts of the world, and how Buddhism has blended with other religions like Shinto, Confucianism, Taoism and Christianity.
Dictionary of Buddhist Iconography by Call Number: ARCHER BQ 4620 L65 1999ISBN: 8186471936Publication Date: 1999
Dictionary of Buddhist Literature and Literary Personalities by Call Number: ARCHER BQ 130 K75 1994ISBN: 8185067880Publication Date: 1994-01-01
Historical Dictionary of Buddhism by Call Number: ARCHER Reference BQ 130 P74 1993ISBN: 0810826984Publication Date: 1993-06-28Provides a comprehensive framework for understanding Buddhism as a historically compelling religion. ...Prebish, a well-known scholar of Buddhism, shows excellent judgement in his selection and treatment of entries... exceptionally valuable... --CHOICE
An Encyclopaedia of Buddhist Deities, Demigods, Godlings, Saints and Demons by Call Number: ARCHER Reference BQ 130 B88 1994ISBN: 8124600201Publication Date: 1998-03-01
