How do I find newspapers?: Canadian Newspapers

The Provincial Archives of Saskatchewan is in the process of digitalizing small town Saskatchewan newspapers.  Currently (as of October 2022) the Archives has mostly only digitalized the newspapers for the periods covering the first and second world wars. 

Many smaller Canadian newspapers are only available through microfilm usually as an interlibrary loan item.  If you need help obtaining something specific please send me an email at robert.thomas@uregina.ca and I would be happy to advise you.

Chat with us at Ask Archer.  During information desk opening hours you can send a message directly to our staff using the chat widget below to get prompt courteous service.

You may search all of Canada's Major Daily Newspapers through the Proquest Canadian Major Dailies database.  This database covers newspapers coast to coast (a full list available on the database coverage page).  Starting coverage varies depending on the newspaper with some starting in the late 1970s or early 1980s while others begin much later.  Coverage usually goes up until yesterday or the day before. 

This database also allows you to limit your search to a specific publication. 

The database is fulltext meaning that the stories are readable in HTML format and usually lack pictures or context as well as items such as obituaries, advertisements or other other ephemera.

The CPIQ Database is an excellent place to start fulltext newspaper searching.  Although it has some coverage of major newspapers its best strength is for minor community based newspapers and the francophone press.  Coverage varies.

Press Display has recent and current issues of Canadian and International newspapers and magazine.   This is a full colour facsimile database that seeks to provide the full experience of reading a physical newspaper.  As most newspapers are only available for the last few weeks (or in some cases months) it is not a good research tool except for reading current stories.

Proquest Historical Newspapers allows you to search through seven important Canadian Historical Newspapers from their first issue until the 21st century (coverage varies).  These newspapers are facsimiles of the print paper and include stories, pictures, advertisements, want ads and obituaries.

Alternatively you may search these papers individually though the links in the next section.