Archer Library: International Studies: Finding Articles

Database Search Tips

AND requires all specified words to appear in each document

e.g. globalization AND poverty

welfare AND inequality

OR requires any of the specified words to appear in each document

e.g. international trade OR global econom*

Indian* OR aboriginal* OR native* OR indigenous OR First Nation*

NOT excludes terms not desired

e.g. Latin Americ* NOT Mexic*

Combining ideas

e.g. women AND (third world OR developing countries)

(free trade) AND (labo* union* OR trade union*) AND (Latin America* OR South America*)

prioritize your concepts to begin your search with the most important one
consider additional concepts to use, if necessary, to reduce or expand retrieval
if the database has a thesaurus, either online or print, check for suggested terms

Not enough material?

if you have combined several concepts using AND, start again and search only the most important one. Then add the next most important one, and so forth
look at each concept and see if you can think of additional synonyms (use OR)
if you are searching free-text, look at your terms carefully and think of ways to broaden your phrasing

Too much material?

look at a sample of the items retrieved; if a high proportion is not relevant, add another concept
sometimes irrelevant records may be eliminated by NOTing out a particular aspect or population
try limiting by language, date, form of material, particular field instead of free-text

Database Suggestions

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
The Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
PAIS International with Archives
An index to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories. Subject areas: agriculture, banking, business, demographics, education, environment, finance, government, health, international relations, law and legislation political science, public administration, social sciences, statistics.
OECD Publications
OECD open access publications.
Economist Intelligence Unit

EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit) provides country, industry, management analysis and forecasts on over 200 countries, nine strategic industries, and a full range of management functions through the following services:
ViewsWire provides daily updated analysis and views on business, economic trends, political and market developments from around the world. ViewsWire covers over 200 countries with three years of archived information.
Country reports provides in depth information on issues shaping the country: the political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, sectoral trends, foreign trade and payments. Country Reports covers 200 countries and is updated monthly.
Claseperiodica
Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities. Contain information from articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports, interviews and brief notes published in 2,600 journals edited in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as from publications that focus on Pan-American issues.

Handbook of Latin American Studies
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources. More information on the history of the Handbook can be found in a paper written for the Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials (SALALM) annual meeting in 1996.

News and Current Events

PressReader

PressReader provides online access to today's newspapers from over 100 countries around the world in over 60 languages in a full-color, full-page format. Includes over 5,000 newspaper titles and magazines with access up to a 90-day archive (varies per news source).

Download PressReader App via the University of Regina edurom Wifi to read titles on mobile devices.
Radiant Access allows anyone who has visited the University of Regina campus a PressReader HotSpot, to extend the app access for six days.
Canadian Major Dailies
The full text database includes national and leading regional papers such as National Post, Calgary Herald, Edmonton Journal,Montreal Gazette, Ottawa Citizen, Regina Leader Post, Vancouver Sun, and the Victoria Times-Colonist.

Search Strategy Sheet

Search Strategy Sheet